Storage Guide for reusable content 111

Indexes over 5,400 nursing journals.  Has full text for over 1,300 of those journals.

Special limits include:

• age groups
• evidence-based practice
• special interest (speech-language pathology/audiology)
• research article
• randomized controlled trials
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Search a phrase in "quotation marks".

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

Comprehensive research database for communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields.  Indexes over 1,000 journals and has full text for more than 600 journals.

Special features:

• can limit to peer-reviewed articles
• can limit Source Type to Academic Journals
• can limit to title of  publication
• can limit to Subject Thesaurus term
• can limit to Subject
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Search a phrase in "quotation marks".

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

The information in ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) from the U.S. Department of Education is also available in this easy-to-search database from EBSCO.  Indexes educational resources including journal articles. 

Special features:

• can limit to peer-reviewed articles
• can limit Source Type to Academic Journals
• can limit to title of  publication
• can limit to Subject
• can limit Educational Level (such as elementary secondary education--useful to K-12 speech language pathologists)
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Search a phrase in "quotation marks".

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

International coverage of all areas of medicine, nursing, health services, etc.

Special features:

• can limit to journal articles
• can limit by Gender
• can limit by Age Groups
• can limit by Geography (U.S.)
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Search a phrase in "quotation marks".

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

An excellent resource for research in Communication Disorders.

Special features:

• can limit by Classification Code (such as 3385 Speech & Language Disorders)
• can limit by Subject: Major Heading
• can limit by Subject
• can limit by Age Groups
• can limit by Population Grouop (gender)
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Search a phrase in "quotation marks".

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

Database consists of full text from over 450 scholarly journals.  Coverage for topics including criminology, psychology, sociology, and the health sciences.

Special features include:

• Select from a list of disciplines (such as Health Sciences)
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

Broad science coverage such as life sciences, earth sciences, and pharmacology.  Consists of almost 2,000 full-text journals.

Special features:

• may limit search to journals
• may limit search to the category Nursing and Health Professions
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

Primarily scientific journals with emphasis on mathematics, physics, and engineering.  Has about 1,200 peer-reviewed journals.  Some journals are not written in English.

Special features:

• can limit results to Articles
• can limit results to English
• can exclude preview-only content
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

Indexes most important journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.  Has links to full text or Interlibrary loan.

Special features:

• can search by topic, author, language, publication years, and more
• can filter results by category (such as AUDIOLOGY SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY)
• can limit Document Type to article
• if cited by later articles, can see information on those articles
• can sort results by relevance (best articles listed first)

TIP:  Can truncate a search with an asterisk (*)

• example:  searching child* =  child, child's, children, children's
• example:  searching technolog* = technology, technologies, technological 

Bonus feature, can create an individualized (free) sign-in:

• can save results
• can use My EndNote Web to create citation lists in APA format--from articles found in any of the EBSCO databases!