Why Cite?
Using someone else's words or ideas without giving them credit is called plagiarism. Avoid plagiarism by learning to correctly cite your sources any time you borrow from someone else. Be sure to use the correct citation format for your course. The Student Handbook: Categories of Academic Dishonesty outlines how plagiarism is defined at WT.
What is Style?
Writing styles are sets of standards for:
- How to format a paper: font, margins, structure
- How to structure citations, both within the text and for the list of sources at the end of the paper
- The way a paper will be written: grammar, word usage, etc.
- What counts as evidence in a discipline
Ask your professor what style you should be using! Use the resources bellow for more information.
MLA Style
MLA Style is used primarily in the Modern Language, English, and similar disciplines.
Use the following links from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) to format your:
Additionally, the library has a print copy of the MLA manual. See below for further information on finding a copy:
-
MLA Handbook
by
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021 ReferenceISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22 9th ed
APA Style
APA Style is used primarily in the social and behavioral sciences, such as Psychology, Sociology, and similar disciplines.
-
Style and Grammar Guidelines for APA 7th EditionThis link will take you to the style and grammar standards for APA 7th edition
-
Reference ExamplesSee examples of most kind of reference entries
Additionally, the library service desks have a print copy of the APA manual to view in the library. See below for further information on finding a copy:
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Available at the Research & Access Desk
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 143383216XPublication Date: 2019-10-01
For further examples of APA formatting see the following links from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL):
Chicago/Turabian Style
Chicago Style and Turabian and are essentially the same, though there are a few small differences in Turabian.
Chicago Style
There are two forms of Chicago Style, find out which format you need to follow:
| Notes-Bibliography | Author-Date |
|---|---|
| Creating Notes | Creating an In-text Citation |
| Forming a Bibliography | Forming a Reference List |
| Note Example | Author Example |
WTAMU faculty, staff, and students have access to the full manual online.
The Manual is also available in print at the library:
-
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
by
The venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar--an indispensable reference informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Now in its 18th edition! More than 1.75 million copies sold! Much has happened in the years since the publication of the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. The world has transformed, and the Manual has risen to meet the moment. The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. The Manual's traditional focus on nonfiction has been expanded to include fiction and other creative genres in coverage of topics such as punctuation and dialogue, and the needs of self-published authors receive wider attention. The citation chapters have been thoroughly reorganized for the benefit of new and experienced users alike, and the key concepts for editing mathematics have been integrated into the chapters where they will be most useful to generalists. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout. And naturally, there are some well-considered updates to familiar rules, including changes intended to align the Manual's recommendations more closely with real-world usage. As with every new edition, devotees of the Manual will find much to discover and ponder.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2024 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024-09-19
Turabian
For those needing Turabian, you can consult the Turabian Quick Guide provided by the University of Chicago Press or consult the following manual at the library:
-
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition
by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780226430577Publication Date: 2018-04-16
CSE Style
CSE Style is used in general sciences.
-
The CSE Manual, Ninth Edition
by
Call Number: T11 .C675 2024 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780226683942Publication Date: 2024-05-03Comprehensive and authoritative scientific style and format rules from the leading professional association in science publishing. The CSE Manual: Scientific Style and Format for Authors, Editors, and Publishers delivers complete coverage of rules and best practices in scientific publishing. Since 1960, the esteemed Council of Science Editors has offered authoritative guidance on presenting scientific writing more clearly and effectively. In the ninth edition of The CSE Manual, this leading international association offers its most comprehensive recommendations yet, continuing to guide writers and editors through the ever-evolving world of scientific publishing.
ACS
You might need to cite your sources using the ACS Style Guide. The basic preferred format for journal articles is:
- Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Abbreviated Title of Journal. Year, Volume, Inclusive Pages.
The format for an article retrieved from a database is:
- Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Abbreviated Title of Journal. Year, Volume, Inclusive Pages. Name of database url of top page (access date Month day, Year).
Specific formatting rules are:
- Author names are separated by a semi-colon, and in the form Surname, First Initial. Middle Initial, Jr. (etc.). List all authors on the item, in the order given on the item.
- Check the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI) for journal title abbreviations. If the title is not listed, use the full title.
- Publication date, and the following comma, are in bold-face font.
- Full dates are listed as Month Day, Year. The months which are abbreviated are Jan Feb Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec. Examples: June 20, 2005. Or Oct 20, 2011.
Here are some examples:
- An, J.; Tuan, C. Y.; Cheeseman, B. A; Gazonas, G. A. Simulation of Soil Behavior under Blast Loading. International Journal of Geomechanics. 2011, 11, 323-334. Academic Search Complete. http://www.ebscohost.com/academic/academic-search-complete (accessed Oct 20, 2011).
- LoPresto, M. C. Experimenting with Musical Intervals. Phys. Educ. 2003, 38, 309-315.
- Matthews, Q.; Jirasek, A.; Lum, J. J.; Brolo, A. G. Biochemical Signatures of in Vitro Radiation Response in Human Lung, Breast and Prostate Tumour Cells Observed with Raman Spectroscopy. Phys. Med. Biol. 2011, 56, 6839-6855. Institute of Physics Journals http://iopscience.iop.org/ (accessed Oct 21, 2011).
- Mizrahi, J.; Verbitsky, O.; Isakov, E; Daily, D. Effect of Fatigue on Leg Kinematics and Impact Acceleration in Long Distance Running. Human Movement Science. 2000, 19, 139-151. ScienceDirect http://www.sciencedirect.com/ (accessed Oct 21, 2011).
Chapter 14 of the ACS Guide shows citations for various other kinds of sources such as books, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.
ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers
In text references are sequentially numbered, enclosed in brackets: [1].
References are at the end of the paper are formatted:
- Reference to journal articles and papers in serial publications should include:
- last name of each author followed by their initials
- year of publication
- full title of the cited article in quotes, title capitalization
- full name of the publication in which it appears
- volume number (if any) in boldface (Do not include the abbreviation, "Vol.")
- issue number (if any) in parentheses (Do not include the abbreviation, “No.”)
- inclusive page numbers of the cited article (include “pp.”)
- Reference to textbooks and monographs should include:
- last name of each author followed by their initials
- year of publication
- full title of the publication in italics
- publisher
- city of publication
- inclusive page numbers of the work being cited (include “pp.”)
American Society of Civil Engineers
For the ASCE reference guidelines, consult the guide Author Services: Journals, ASCE Style Manual, Author-Date References
The Basics:
- In-text citation is (Author Date)
Single Author Two Authors Three or More Authors (Miller 2005) (Miller and Smith 2005) (Miller et al. 2005) - Reference List Entry
- Journal Article Entry
- Author(s). (Year). "Title of article in sentence style capitalization." Abr. Jrnl. Title, Vol(iss), inclusive page numbers.
- EXAMPLE:
- Stahl, D. C., Wolfe, R. W., and Begel, M. (2004). “Improved analysis of timber rivet connections.” J. Struct. Eng., 130(8), 1272-1279.
- Journal Article Entry
IEEE
The following information is adapted from the IEEE Citation Reference.
For references with three or more authors, use et al. after the initials author's last name.
Reference Page
Books
- F. M. LastName, "Title fo chapter in the book," in Title of Published Work, xth ed. City of Publisher, Country [if not USA]: Abbrev. of Publisher, year, ch. x, sec. x, pp. xxx-xxx.
- L. Stein, "Random patterns," in Computer and Your, J. S. Brake, Ed. New York: Wiley, 1994, pp. 55-70.
Periodicals
- F. M. LastName, "Name of paper," Abbrev. Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xxx-xxx, Abbrev. Month, year.
- R. E. Kalman, "New results in linear filtering and prediction theory," J. Basic Eng., ser. D, vol. 83, pp. 95-108, Mar. 1961.
Note: See the IEEE Citation Reference for IEEE Periodical Abbreviations.
Handbooks
- Name of Manual/Handbook, x ed., Abbrev. Name of Co., City of Co., Abbrev. State, year, pp. xx-xx.
- Transmission Systems for Communication, 3rd ed., Western Electric Co., Winston-Salem, NC, 1985, pp. 44-60.
Reports
- F. M. LastName, "Title of report," Abbrev. Name of Co., City of Co., Abbrev. State, Rep. xxx, year.
- J. H. Davis and J. R. Cogdell, "Calibration program for the 16-foot antenna," Elect. Eng. Res. Lab., Univ. Texas, Austin, Tech. Memo. NGL-006-69-3, Nov. 15, 1987.
Conferences Technical Articles
- Basic
- F. M. Author, "Title of paper," in Unabbreviated Name of Conf., City of Conf., Abbrev. State [if given], year, pp. xxx-xxx.
- Electronic without Page Numbers
- F. M. LastName and F. M. LastName, "Title of Article," in Title of Conf, year, © [copyright holder]. doi:xxxx.
- Unpublished Paper Presented at Conference
- F. M. LastName and F. M. LastName, "Title of paper," presented at the Unabbrev. Name of Conf., City of Conf., Abbrev. State, year.
Website
- N. M. LastName, (year, month day). Title (edition) [Type of medium]. Available: [URL]
- J. Jones. (1991, May 10). Networks (2nd ed.) [Online]. Available: http://www.atm.com
- F. M. LastName. (year, month day). Title (edition) [Type of medium]. Available e-mail: Message:
- S. H. Gold. (1995, Oct 10). Inter-Network Talk [Online]. Available e-mail: COMSERVE@RPIECS Message: Get NETWORK TALK
Patents
- F. M. LastName, "Title of patent," U.S. Patent x xxx xxx, Abbrev. Month, day, year.
- J. P. Wilkinson, "Nonlinear resonant circuit devices," U.S. Patent 3 624 125, July 16, 1990.
Standards
- Title of Standard, Standard number, date.
- IEEE Criteria for Class IE Electric Systems, IEEE Standard 308, 1969.
Theses and Dissertations
- F. M. LastName, "Title of thesis/dissertation," [M.S. or Ph.D.] [theses or dissertation], Abbrev. Dept., Abbrev. Univ., City of Univ, Abrrev. State, year.
- J. O. Williams, "Narrow-band analyzer," Ph.D. dissertation, Dept. Elect. Eng., Harvard Univ., Cambridge, MA, 1993.
Unpublished
- F. M. LastName, "Title of paper," unpublished.
- F. M. LastName, private communication, Abbrev. Month, year.
Citation Tracking in Web of Science
APA Citation Helpful links
-
APA Style: Reference ExamplesIncludes examples for journals, magazines, books, a book chapter, reports and gray literature, conferences, dissertations and theses, unpublished works, data sets, online media, and audiovisual media.
-
Online Writing Lab: APA Style (7th Edition) (Purdue University)Includes short discussions on quotations, references, notes, and general format. (Ignore the Citation Machine.)
-
Sample APA PaperFrom OWL, the online Writing Lab at Purdue University
Citation Books
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 Ready ReferenceISBN: 143383216XPublication Date: 2019-10-01 7th ed.
-
MLA Handbook
by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements & facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication dates that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today.
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22 9th ed
-
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
by
The venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar--an indispensable reference informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Now in its 18th edition! More than 1.75 million copies sold! Much has happened in the years since the publication of the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. The world has transformed, and the Manual has risen to meet the moment. The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. The Manual's traditional focus on nonfiction has been expanded to include fiction and other creative genres in coverage of topics such as punctuation and dialogue, and the needs of self-published authors receive wider attention. The citation chapters have been thoroughly reorganized for the benefit of new and experienced users alike, and the key concepts for editing mathematics have been integrated into the chapters where they will be most useful to generalists. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout. And naturally, there are some well-considered updates to familiar rules, including changes intended to align the Manual's recommendations more closely with real-world usage. As with every new edition, devotees of the Manual will find much to discover and ponder.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2024 Ready ReferenceISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024-09-19 18th ed.
-
Scientific Style and Format
by
For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to reflect today's best practices in scientific publishing. Scientific Style and Format citation style has been comprehensively reorganized, and its style recommendations have been updated to align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. Also new to the eighth edition are guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Style instructions for physics, chemistry, genetics, biological sciences, and astronomy have been adjusted to reflect developments in each field. The coverage of numbers, units, mathematical expressions, and statistics has been revised and now includes more information on managing tables, figures, and indexes. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons. For the first time in its history, Scientific Style and Format will be available simultaneously in print and online at www.scientificstyleandformat.org. Online subscribers will receive access to full-text searches of the new edition and other online tools, as well as the popular Chicago Manual of Style Online Forum, a community discussion board for editors and authors. Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.
Call Number: T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Citation Management
These are just a few free tools you can use to manage your research, articles, and citations to help you stay organized.
-
EndNote This link opens in a new window
Organize and automatically create references and citations for your sources. Requires creation of a personal account.
-
ZoteroAn open-source bibliographic management tool that you may download to your personal computer. Use it to collect, organize, cite, and share readings.
Other Helpful Citation Management Resources
These are just a few free tools you can use to manage your research, articles, and citations to help you stay organized.
-
EndNote This link opens in a new window
Organize and automatically create references and citations for your sources. Requires creation of a personal account.
-
ZoteroAn open-source bibliographic management tool that you may download to your personal computer. Use it to collect, organize, cite, and share readings.
Other Helpful Citation Resources
Stop by the Research desk at the library for the most recent print editions of these style guides.
-
American Psychological AssociationProvides information on how to properly cite using the APA 7th edition. Includes tutorials, webinars and sample papers.
-
The MLA Style CenterProvides information on how to properly cite using the MLA citation style. Includes an interactive template for creating a Works Cited page.
-
Purdue OWL APAIncludes short discussions on quotations, references, notes, and general format. (Ignore the Citation Machine)
-
Purdue OWL MLAFormatting and Style Guide
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of both the 18th edition of the manual and the 17th edition, plus Quick Guides for both the Notes & Bibliography system and the Author-Date system, as well as a Q&A section.
Search key terms, or browse the table of contents. Each entry has navigation to preceding and following entries. Two methods of formatting citations, plus extensive grammar and usage guidance.