Business Liaison Librarian
Beth Vizzini
Contact:
West Texas A&M University
Cornette Library
Room #125D
WTAMU Box 60748
Canyon, TX 79016
Cornette Library
Room #125D
WTAMU Box 60748
Canyon, TX 79016
(806) 651-2225
Subjects: Business, Market Info
Marketing Research - begin here:
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Our most comprehensive coverage of business publications for management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more, with not only academic journals, magazines, trade journals, book chapters, conference papers but also country-specific reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, legal summaries, and CFRA industry surveys.
Unlike Business Source Complete, this version allows unrestricted access to Harvard Business Review (including removing restrictions to the top 500 articles) for course use, enabling linking, printing and downloading that was often unavailable in Business Source Complete. It also increases the number of active, non-OA full-text peer-reviewed journals from 970 to 1,519 and the number without any embargo from 473 to 966. - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowIndexing of more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and full text of more than 8,000, with coverage in such subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
- Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new windowHundreds of sample business plans, small business journals, encyclopedias, and other resources covering entrepreneurship and small business topics, such as accounting, HR, management, marketing, taxes, and more.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowGlobal company, country and business topic overviews, international case studies, Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, Industry Research Essays, and full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new windowAccess to nearly 14,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 200,000 images, 3,300 audio files, and thousands of videos. Particularly useful for general reference queries, business searches, and current event research.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings, offering reports on more than 1300 US industries. Over 700 NAICS Industry reports, 600+ US Specialized Industry Reports on emerging and sub niche industries, US Business Environment Profiles provide data and analysis on more than 350 key economic, demographic and consumer indicators, US and International Risk Rating Reports, 74 Global Industry Reports full of statistics and easy-to-digest analysis.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window** Expanded access continues as we work to implement a new contract for JSTOR's new all-access model, which will provide access to all archival journals and primary source content. **
Back volumes for 2,890 journals from the very first issue but usually excluding the most current 2-5 years, though almost 100 with coverage through the most recent issue. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics.
- NewspapersCompilation of Current and Historical Newspapers.
- WRDS (Wharton Research Data Service) This link opens in a new windowWRDS is an account-based business intelligence, data analytics, and research platform through which multiple providers offer their data by subscription. Our subscription principally features Compustat from S&P Global.
Accounts are available for WT faculty, students, and staff.
You can request an account through the link above.
Account requests are approved within 24 hours by Dr. Robert King of the College of Business. If you don't see a response to your request within that time, you can then email Dr. King at raking@wtamu.edu or librarian Beth Vizzini at bavizzini@wtamu.edu.
Markets and Consumers
- American Community SurveyThe American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people.
- American Consumer Satisfaction IndexThe American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is the only national cross-industry measure of customer satisfaction in the United States. The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets. The ACSI benefits business, researchers, policymakers, and consumers alike by serving as a national indicator of the health of the U.S. economy, as well as a tool for gauging the competitiveness of individual firms and predicting future profitability. Some data available at no charge; some parts of the website and associated data require a subscription.
- BusinessUSAA guide from the Small Business Administration that shows the market research process and includes links to government data sources. Free.
- Economic Census - U. S. Bureau of the CensusThe U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. Free.
- Pew Research CenterSurveys and reports on the attitudes, opinions, and lifestyles of Americans. Free.
- Survey of Consumer FinancesA publication of the Federal Reserve Board that contains information of the financial and demographic characteristics of U.S. families. Free.
Other best bets:
- New York Times (1851-2017) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Images of all material published in this important U.S. newspaper. Articles, advertising, letters, funeral notices and photos are all included. Fully searchable and browsable. - New York Times website (nytimes.com) accounts This link opens in a new window
In order to have unlimited access to New York Times content at nytimes.com, use this link to create a personal account at no cost to you.
Once registered, you will have 364 days of full account access, after which you must re-register your email address. - Value Line This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed analysis and key financial ratios for stocks (including Small and Mid Cap) and mutual funds, and overviews of about 100 industry segments.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).