Skip to main content

ICPSR

This guide provides information about ICPSR, the Inter-University Consortium of Political and Social Research.

Thematic Data Collections

ICPSR partners with several federal statistical agencies and foundations to create thematic data collections organized around specific topics. These thematic collections bring a dynamism to ICPSR from which the broader social science research community benefits. The sponsors provide new data (in most cases free to everyone), which stimulate more research. The funded collections and ICPSR work together to build additional infrastructure for data discovery and use.

  • Archive of Data on Disability to Enable Policy (ADDEP) is a joint initiative of the Center for Large Data Research and Sharing in Rehabilitation (CLDR) and ICPSR. This archive brings together existing disability data already available at ICPSR with newly acquired data from rehabilitation medicine and related areas.
  • Child Care & Early Education Research Connections promotes high quality research and informing policy through free access to thousands of publications and datasets.
  • Child & Family Data Archive is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them
  • CivicLEADS - Civic Learning, Engagement & Action Data Sharing provides infrastructure for researchers to share and access high-quality datasets which can be used to study civic education and involvement.
  • DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICSPR has a long commitment to safekeeping and dissemination US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community as well a recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR might add to DataLumos.
  • Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR) is a data sharing project for the demography and population sciences community.
  • The Education Research Data Sharing Initiative is a partnership between the American Educational Research Association (AERA) and ICPSR to foster secondary data analysis of National Science Foundation-funded investigator-initiated STEM projects.
  • Firearm Safety Among Children and Teens (FACTS) is an interdisciplinary group of researchers, practitioners, and firearms owners across the United States who are dedicated to reducing child firearm injuries and deaths, while respecting gun ownership as a part of the cultural fabric of the U.S. The FACTS consortium seeks to engage multidisciplinary research experts across the country to catalyze the science of child firearm injury prevention.
  • Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States. HCMA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by RWJF and facilitates secondary analyses of the data.
  • The LinkageLibrary is a community and repository for researchers involved in combining datasets, facilitating comparison of different algorithms, and promoting transparency and replicability of research.
  • National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP) acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research. NAHDAP offers scholars the opportunity to conduct secondary analysis on major issues of social and behavioral sciences and policy.
  • National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research. NACDA is the largest library of electronic data on aging in the United States, and offers opportunities for secondary analysis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
  • National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on the arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public.
  • Open Data Flint is a central location for housing Flint, Michigan-based data gathered from academic institutions, local organizations, policy makers, general public, and others interested in Flint.
  • OpenICPSR is a "self-service" data repository for researchers who need to deposit their social and behavioral science data for public access compliance. Data are preserved as is, and are available to data users at no cost.
  • ResearchDataGov is a web portal and application system for discovering and requesting restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies. ICPSR developed ResearchDataGov with support and guidance from the Census Bureau, the Office of Management and Budget, and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy.
  • Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) provides educators, researchers, and students with data resources so that they can produce analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. RCMD provides access and analytic tools enhancements to make use of the vast array of available data. The archive collection allows researchers to track changes in outcomes and status of minority populations and contributing factors.
  • United States Census Bureau Data Repository preserves and disseminates survey instruments, specifications, data dictionaries, codebooks, and other materials provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. ICPSR hosts this data depository and has also listed additional Census-related data collections from its larger holdings.