InfoGuides: ENGL 1302 Dr. Hart: Resources

Research Resources

Each of these databases covers a wide range of topics. They are great for general research.

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary academic resource. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language, arts, literature, and medicine. Includes scholarly full-text articles from over 7,300 sources, with an additional 1,000 full-text sources. Indexes more than 10,000 periodicals

Coverage: Varies by title. Mostly mid90s - present., Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, page length, publication name and type.
Credo Reference
Over 1,390 reference books offering more than 3.6 million full-text articles. Also offers around 100 videos and tutorials on aspects of research skills, evaluating information, avoiding plagiarism, study skills, and creating and delivering presentations.

Topic pages include mind-mapping tool and simultaneous search of other resources. Advanced search is necessary for exact phrase searching. For power searching operators, see http://academic.help.credoreference.com/search/power-searching.html
EBSCO Search
- This link opens in a new window
A locally customized combined search of over 60 different EBSCO databases, covering a wide array of topics and sources.

Includes: Academic Search Complete, Agricola, AHFS Consumer Medication Information, America: History and Life with Full Text, American Doctoral Dissertations, Bibliography of Native North Americans, Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson), Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Business Source Ultimate, CINAHL Complete, Civil War Primary Source Documents, Communication Source, Computer Source, Education Source, Educational Administration Abstracts, Energy & Power Source, ERIC, Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson), Family Studies Abstracts, Fuente Académica Premier, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA), International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text, Legal Collection, Legal Information Reference Center, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Premier, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, Middle Search Plus, Military & Government Collection, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, Newspaper Source, Play Index (H.W. Wilson), Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, Public Administration Abstracts, Race Relations Abstracts, Regional Business News, Religion and Philosophy Collection, Science & Technology Collection, Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson), Social Work Abstracts, SPORTDiscus with Full Text, Teacher Reference Center, Texas Reference Center, The Serials Directory, TOPICsearch, Vocational and Career Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Business Collection, eBook Clinical Collection, eBook Collection, eBook Education Collection, eBook EngineeringCore, eBook History Collection, eBook Religion Collection
Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference)
Full-text, searchable access to more than 175 specific encyclopedias in many subjects, including business, social sciences, history, biography, religion, popular culture, and much more.

Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1993-2007 publication dates, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Search by title, keyword, author, subject, ISBN, full-text, and image caption. Limit by date, document type, or audience type. You can also drill down through a subject classification list from general to specific.
ScienceDirect
Broad science coverage, emphasizing life sciences, health sciences, engineering, earth sciences, agriculture, and pharmacology. Full text from over 3800 journals and chapters from over 5300 books. Also includes business, management and accounting; economics, econometrics and finance, and social science.

Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies by title, most 1990-present, Truncation and Wildcard: ! and *, Search Tips: Default search assumes entered term is a phrase. Can search for terms in abstract/title/keywords, full-text , author, journal title, etc. Use singular for terms that form regular plurals. For irregular plurals, combine both terms with OR. Greek letters are spelled out in English. Super and subscripts appear inline. Browsable help lists. Journal list.

Citation Resources

APA Formatting and Style Guide
This is Purdue's Online Writing Lab pertaining to APA citation.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
This is Purdue's Online Writing Lab. They are considered to be the authority in MLA formatting.

EndNote
Organize and automatically create references and citations for your sources. Requires creation of a personal account.

Resource Organization Tool. This is a link to an Excel spreadsheet, please download a copy of the document to your computer before filling in any boxes.

I will be checking the document periodically and deleting any saved changes.

Multimedia Resources

Equipment Check Out from WT
As a WT student, you can check out technology from the HELC, such as laptops, digital cameras, video cameras, and voice recorders.
Hardware and Software in the HELC
Also inside the HELC, you will be able to use various hardware and software for your multimedia project. They have PCS, Macs, Digital Video Editing Equipment, iLife/iWorks, Audacity, and more.
Office 365
Office 365 includes many applications that can be used for creating a multimedia project. In addition to PowerPoint, there is a video app and many organizational tools that can be used for project creation and planning.