Has information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly transported over 10 million Africans to the Americas between the 16th and 19th centuries. Search for specific voyages in database of documented slaving expeditions, create listings, tables, charts, and maps. Explore database of 67,000 Africans aboard slave ships, with name, age, gender, origin, and place of embarkation. Also, intro maps, as well as timeline and chronology.
More than 24,000 pages of text drawn from 67 books and 59 pamphlets, from 1787 to 1911, with the greatest concentration of materials dating from the mid-nineteenth century. Browsing sometimes may work more effectively than searching here. Image quality may vary.
"The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850." Has a good amount of primary source texts, database, and maps.
"digital video archive of historical news film allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement" and digitized archival materials "on the Civil Rights Movement and the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s" in over 140 collections held by 91 entities in the U.S. [as per site's About and Choice mag review]. Go through the "Collections A-Z" link to find primary sources.
344 documents in collections related to the struggle for civil rights in Mississippi and the American South. Collections date from Reconstruction to the late 20th century. Major topics represented include the Freedmen's Bureau, school integration, voter registration, labor, and religious activism.
"historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums...document[ing] voluntary immigration to the United States from the...Constitution to the...Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, [it] includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs."
"simplifies access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States." Browse or search over 400 collections with subject areas both broad (suffrage, home economics, feminism) and specialized (women air pilots, architects, and rodeo performers). Time periods range from 17th through 21st centuries but with most content from 1800s or later.
"650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs....Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented"
The diaries in this digital collection were written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States. There are over 100 diaries of varying length, selected from the following archival collections at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University:
From the University of Oklahoma Western History Collections. "access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living....[O]rganized by tribe but may be searched by interviewee, by interviewer, by tape number, or by keyword searching of the full-text of the transcript."