Web Collections of Digitized Primary Source Documents

Includes digitized letters, books, and archival materials from Texas history from dozens of library and museum collections.

Documents the "military, civil, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas from 1717 to 1792" with "over 5,000 original documents (23,000 pages) that have been digitized from microfilm. Researchers may browse, by year, the originals and translations, or compare an original and its translation side-by-side. Full-text searching of the translations is also supported.

Oral histories presenting the personal recollections of 173 Tejanos and Tejanas and their struggle against racial discrimination in post-World War II Texas

"The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850." Has a good amount of primary source texts, database, and maps.

a publicly accessible, free, and user-friendly multimedia digital humanities database that provides video clips from oral history interviews with people in Texas in the black civil rights and Chicano/a movements.

a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout [the] state....A collaborative effort initiated by the Rasmuson Library at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, the Consortium Library at the University of Alaska Anchorage, and the Alaska State Library in Juneau....includes over 10,000 items.

"More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts [from the] history and culture of California"

"a million digital objects in more than 200 collections from 60 institutions and 100 government agencies." "digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, letters, diaries, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and more." Browse by media type, topic, or time period. Or search. Excellent resource for primary source documents from the American south.

Despite lack of download function and date filtering, this is a good source for digital images of contemporaneous coverage of historic events in Florida from the 18th century onward. Florida newspapers begin around 1883; before that coverage comes from newspapers outside of Florida.

Many thousands of Illinois-related documents and images organized in 136 thematic collections. Includes primary source historical material, scholarly articles, digitized books, and more. Easily browsed or searched.

Twenty different collections of documents and images, including census records, death records, oral histories, maps, sheet music, photos, property inventories, and Civil War manuscripts and service records.

More than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. Browse by collection or topic or use basic or advanced searching.

Over 150 collections of primary sources of South Carolina history including manuscripts, letters, maps, photos, books, artwork, and more.

includes works in Latin, Greek, and most of the vernacular languages of Europe that are the primary sources for the study of the literature, art, history, music, philosophy, and theology

Compiles digitized primary sources pertaining to European history. Can filter by language.

Text of primary source documents from the history of Great Britain, from the 12th through 19th century.

"A fully searchable edition of 240,000 manuscripts from eight archives and fifteen datasets, giving access to 3.35 million names."

Over 460,000 pieces of primary source material relating to World War I from at least a dozen different countries, with letters, diaries, photos, films, official government documents, and more.

"...consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions."

516 digitized documents "in both English and German from the period immediately following World War II. Many are publications of the U.S. occupying forces, including reports and descriptions of efforts to introduce U.S.-style democracy to Germany. Some of the other books and documents describe conditions in a country devastated by years of war, efforts at political, economic and cultural development, and the differing perspectives coming from the U.S. and British zones and the Russian zone of occupation. At the same time, the Germans themselves and the occupying forces look back at the National Socialist period and try to come to terms with what had happened."

Thousands of photos and many digitized manuscripts from Irish history.

"Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during 19th & early 20th centuries....more than 5,000 titles....Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico most heavily represented...These pamphlets are valuable primary resources for students and researchers working on Latin American history. They document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminate many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life. Many pamphlets are devoted to boundary disputes, territorial expansion, the description of unexplored territories and the relationship between Church and State." In Spanish.

Digital copies of over 280 Islamic manuscripts, 275 printed texts, and 50 maps, totaling over 156,000 pages. Users can search or browse online materials that date from the 10th to the 20th centuries CE. Mostly in non-English languages.

"The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Search within the volumes, or browse volume titles by administration."

A full-text image database providing online access to pre-World War II issues of four major government publications, namely, Administrative Report, Hong Kong Sessional Papers, Hong Kong Hansard and Hong Kong Government Gazette. It contains a wide range of information, such as official notifications, proceedings of the Legislative Council, statistics, and reports of government departments and special committees, which are essential to students and scholars in conducting research on Hong Kong.