InfoGuides: HSCI 3300: Public and Community Health: Find Articles

Databases & Scholarly Articles

Library Databases may contain:

scholarly articles
newspapers or magazines
images or historical documents
full-text books

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles:

are written, reviewed, and edited by experts,
refer to work by other scholars

Learn more evaluating scholarly articles

Evaluate Resources

Click image for more information

Start Here

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. Provides citations and abstracts for over 5,400 nursing journals, as well as books, conferences, software, and audiovisual material. Provides the full text for over 1,300 of those journals.
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1982 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: 'Help' link on each screen. 'Styles of Citation' available under 'Help'., and Special Features: Browse list of publication titles.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable access to more than 175 specific encyclopedias in many subjects, including business, social sciences, history, biography, religion, popular culture, and much more.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1993-2007 publication dates, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Search by title, keyword, author, subject, ISBN, full-text, and image caption. Limit by date, document type, or audience type. You can also drill down through a subject classification list from general to specific.
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Over 6 million articles from more than 1,000 journals in nursing and related healthcare fields.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Specific, detailed answers to clinical questions in nursing, sports and exercise sciences, communication disorders, and psychology. Original content that is written, reviewed and continually updated by a faculty of more than 5,100 leading physicians. Content includes over 9,500 topics in 21 specialties, a drug database and drug interactions program, 135 Medical calculators, What’s New (summary of important new findings by specialty), and patient education materials.

Other Databases with Important Content

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Scholarly coverage for 29 scientific disciplines in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Identifies the principal contributions in the primary research literature.
Format: Majority is full-text, Coverage: Some abstracts 1932-; some full-text 1997-, Truncation and Wildcard: Automatic and None, Search Tips: Use "Browse" for table of contents of a volume. May limit by the publication's area of discipline. "Help" on each screen.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1.7 million dissertations and masters theses from U.S. and international academic institutions and abstracting and indexing for 3.8 million.
Format: Frequently full-text, Coverage: Citations since 1637. Some full-text from 1743. Truncation and Wildcard: ? and *, Search Tips: May combine searches in a single research session.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Formerly Health Reference Center: Academic.
Integrated collection of medical and professional periodicals, general interest health and fitness magazines, medical references and pamphlets. Designed for nursing and allied health students. More than 14,000 full-text publications, over 5,000 of which are peer-reviewed journals.
Format: Majority full-text, Coverage: mid-1990s - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: ? is wildcard for exactly one character. ! Is wildcard for 1 or 0 characters and is useful for plural searches., and Special Features: Can e-mail, print or save results. Links to similar articles are at the bottom of every record. Will indicate "May be available in Cornette Library" when source is in the WT online catalog.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
MEDLINE (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
International coverage of all areas of medicine (clinical and experimental), dentistry, nursing, health services administration, etc. Searches 12 million records. Interface is through OCLC, and resembles that for ArticleFirst and Worldcat.
Coverage: Varies, begins as early as 1965, Truncation and Wildcard: * (any ending of stem) and # (any number of characters), Search Tips: To search singular and plural terms simultaneously, use a + at the end of the singular form. The wildcard replacement for only a single character is ?, which can be repeated up to 9 times. Limit by field searched, publication types. Areas of medicine are labeled Record type. Does not allow age, gender or species search. Can limit to full-text.
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from 81 journals, principally from Ovid's Nursing Collections I and II, as well as some sports and exercise journals and a few others.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1996 - present. A few back to 1993., Truncation and Wildcard: $ and # or ?, Search Tips: Boolean commands. Can limit searches by search field., and Special Features: Limit of 40 concurrent users statewide affects availability of full-text. Browseable tables of contents. Can email results. Can save searches for doing at a later time.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Behavioral sciences database containing full-text and abstracts for journals, books, and book chapters. International coverage for psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education and pharmacology. Index is created by the American Psychological Association. More than 1.8 million entries. Entries are searchable by language, format, special population groups, classification codes, content type, intended audience, and special features.
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1887-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results. Some full-text publications may have the most current 3-12 months in abstract only, due to publisher restrictions.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 860+ scholarly journals, with excellent coverage for criminology, psychology, sociology, health sciences and the humanities. Numerous journals also cover education, general and international business, and management.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1999-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Search results may include material earlier than our subscription. DO NOT pay for articles: use our Interlibrary Loan
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Broad science coverage, emphasizing life sciences, health sciences, engineering, earth sciences, agriculture, and pharmacology. Full text from over 3800 journals and chapters from over 5300 books. Also includes business, management and accounting; economics, econometrics and finance, and social science.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies by title, most 1990-present, Truncation and Wildcard: ! and *, Search Tips: Default search assumes entered term is a phrase. Can search for terms in abstract/title/keywords, full-text , author, journal title, etc. Use singular for terms that form regular plurals. For irregular plurals, combine both terms with OR. Greek letters are spelled out in English. Super and subscripts appear inline. Browsable help lists. Journal list.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Primarily scientific journals, with particular emphasis on mathematics, physics and engineering. Publisher is European, so some journals are not in English. Contains about 1,200 peer-reviewed journals.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies, mid 1990s - present., Truncation and Wildcard: No and No, Search Tips: Default choice in advanced search is citation, so switch to articles by text tab to keyword search. Dropdown menu allows searching by All Words, AExact Phrase or Boolean Search. Search is by Author, Title, Abstract (including title), or Full-text (including title and abstract). Select Recency or Relevancy to sort results. To search by publication dates, or specific publication names, click the button labeled Show Advanced Options. Also browseable by publication, by publisher, or by online library (broad subjects such as chemical sciences, computer science, economics, etc.)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1970-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and * for (any), ? for (1), $ for (0 or 1), Search Tips: Default search is for terms in the order they are entered, use quotation marks for a phrase. Search options include author, title, keyword, and subject. Author first name is initials only. Supports logical connectors AND, OR, NOT, and SAME. Can limit to one or two of the included indexes.

Interlibrary Loan

Found or need information (e.g. articles, books, etc.) that we don't have access to? You can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).

Request a book or article.
Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.

WTAMU students, faculty, staff, and Friends of Cornette Library (Supporting level and above) can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow research materials from the collections of other libraries.

ILL Office hours are Monday-Friday 8AM to 5PM. Contact the Interlibrary Loan department at (806) 651-2406.

Request an Item

Get Help from the Library

Research & Access Help

Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Typical response time is within 1 business day.
Stop by the first floor Research or Access desks anytime the library is open
Renew items using the My Account feature of the online catalog
Follow us on Facebook and/or X/Twitter.