Relevant Education Databases - EDRD 6392 - Special Topics in Children's Literature: Multicultural Children's & Adolescent Literature

Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Same-day access to the news, career, and research articles and notes published in the major trade journal for higher education. Includes contents of weekly print issue, and online news features. Special topics include faculty, students, research, athletics, money, and information technology. Basic search results will return articles that match any one or more of the terms entered. See Search tips below for information on narrowing search results.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1995-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to search a phrase, use a plus sign (+) to require a term, use a minus sign (-) to exclude a term, use a tilde (~) to search for synonyms.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research database from EBSCO covering early childhood to higher education and diverse educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Indexing for more than 3500 journals and full text for over 2000 journals, 500 books, and 1700 conference papers. Coverage from 1800 to present.
ERIC (U.S. Dept. of Ed.) This link opens in a new window
Educational index of research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Consists of the print indexes Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
Format: Citations, Coverage: 1966 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Default search is keyword, and assumes AND between search terms. * will match multiple characters anywhere after the first three characters in the word. Phrases should be enclosed in quotation marks. Supports Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT, . Advanced Search also allows searching by title, author, journal title, source intitution, and/or sponsoring agency
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexing of more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and full text of more than 8,000, with coverage in such subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Gale Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Specialized tool for discovery of recreational reading.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on some 2,500 literary writers and their works. Identifiers include ethnicity, nationality, literary period, genre, theme and literary/historical timeline.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1993 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Boolean commands. Proximity searching. Use ( ) to construct powerful searches.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
More than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports covering such educational specialties and topics as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, and policy.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google scholar is a specialized Google service that searches the web for journal articles, books, and other material that MAY be scholarly. Use the special link above for authenticated access to full text articles when off campus.
Format: , Coverage: Varies, mostly mid 1990s - present, Truncation and Wildcard: None and None, Search Tips: To search specifically for an author, use the format author:"j smith" or author:smith. The "Advanced Search Page" allows greater specificity. Words can be searched as exact phrase, without a specific word, in specific publications, with specified authors, and within a specified time frame. Google Scholar will also search within subject areas. Using a + in front of a common word (such as the, and, or) makes sure the term is included in the results. Using a - in front of a term excludes items containing the word.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
An ever-growing collection of eBooks, audiobooks, and eMagazines for leisure, recreation and self-help reading. Available in a variety of formats, including Kindle, EPUB, MP3, and more.
Overdrive allows users to conveniently recommend titles for purchase using the "Notify Me" smart tag and to receive a notification if we purchase the item. Please do recommend what you're eager to read!

To get started download the Libby App, select the three-bar image (bottom middle), click Add Library, search for Texas A&M University System, select TAMUS, and then select WTAMU. Enter your WTAMU login information, authenticate and your library card is ready to use.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Adds multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books with thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in grades K–12, including videos, pronunciation guides and other About the Author materials, lesson plans, activity guides