Texas Public School Databases

TexShare databases are acquired through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC). Each year, TSLAC and Region 20 negotiate a database package for school districts called TexQuest. The databases listed below are the ones Cornette Library and K12 school districts have in common.

Gale Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Specialized tool for discovery of recreational reading.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable access to more than 175 specific encyclopedias in many subjects, including business, social sciences, history, biography, religion, popular culture, and much more.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1993-2007 publication dates, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Search by title, keyword, author, subject, ISBN, full-text, and image caption. Limit by date, document type, or audience type. You can also drill down through a subject classification list from general to specific.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 14,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 200,000 images, 3,300 audio files, and thousands of videos. Particularly useful for general reference queries, business searches, and current event research.
Gale In Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Kid-friendly database with rich visuals for children to find answers to their questions, practice research skills, and explore interests inside and outside the classroom.

Lets elementary school children up through 5th grade gradually gain comfort with research by delivering age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Highly visual design and navigation combined with the content and tools to support middle school assignments and coursework.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
More than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports covering such educational specialties and topics as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, and policy.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Periodical and reference book content supporting high school student research.
National Geographic Kids This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete run of the magazine from 2009 to the present, as well as books, videos, and images. High-quality informational texts are available for primary, upper elementary, and middle school English Language Arts, social studies, and science classrooms.

Along with the default Nat Geo Kids home screen linked above, you can also use the advanced search or browse by whole issues.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Interactive resources from EBSCO, via TexShare, to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Includes preparation for college and graduate school admissions tests including the SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT and MCAT, as well as for professional certification, licensing, and aptitude tests in such fields as civil service, law enforcement, firefighting, EMS, military, real estate, and healthcare. Over 800 online practice tests, interactive skillbuilding tutorials, and other learning tools.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Adds multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books with thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in grades K–12, including videos, pronunciation guides and other About the Author materials, lesson plans, activity guides