EDRD 6392 - Special Topics in Children's Literature: Multicultural Children's & Adolescent Literature

eBook
"Activist and radical left politics in Britain have long been concerned with issues of race. It is not until the 1960s, when the British population began seeing an increased populace of British-born children from Black and Asian backgrounds, that a significant number of writers began addressing children of colour about activist and radical ideas. Exploring some of the activists producing work from the late 1960s onwards and how and why they wrote and published for children, this text examines the space given to people of colour by white activists; the voice agency and intersectionality in activist writing for young people; how writers used activism to expand definitions of Britishness for child readers; and finally, how activism and writing about it has changed in the 21st century. From communist and feminist activists concerned with broader children's rights, such as Chris Searles and Rosemary Stones, to Black Panthers and contemporary advocates for people of colour from Farrukh Dhondy to Floella Benjamin, Benjamin Zephaniah to Liv Little, Karen Sands-O'Connor traces how these radicals translated their values for children of colour. Beginning with the incidents that sparked activism and the first cultural products for children up to the mainstream presses publishing figures such as the grime artist Stormzy, this book analyses the choices, struggles and successes of writers of activist literature as they tried to change Britain and British literature to make it a welcoming place for all child readers."

This book presents recent research related to how issues of diversity are addressed within literacy instruction for K-12 learners. Over the last decade, issues of diversity have promulgated within the field of literacy. Recent revisions to teacher education standards call for new approaches to professional development to ensure that educators are positioned to view and utilize diversity as an advantage within their classrooms and notions of what constitutes diversity are expanding.  As the population of learners continues to diversify, literacy teachers must be equipped with knowledge of who their learners are and how to effectively build upon their individual experiences, lifestyles, and ways of seeing the world. A systematic change is needed and this volume is directed at advancing research within the intersectionality between literacy and diversity to contribute towards this important mission.  This volume features prominent literacy researchers sharing their evidence-based successes that are founded upon longstanding and newfound theoretical frameworks. It is suitable for both educators in K-12 and university classroom contexts for teachers, administrators, graduate students, and professors alike.

eBook
Covering picture books, middle-grade books and young adult fiction, this was the first survey of English-language children's literature that features lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or otherwise queer characters. It explores how LGBTQ characters are portrayed and what this says about contemporary society. Annotated bibliography.

In the true multilingual classroom, children use a variety of languages to learn: their home languages, the school language, foreign and second languages offered in the curriculum, minority languages, endangered languages. Transforming our monolingual classrooms into spaces where a multiplicity of languages can thrive remains a pedagogical challenge for most teachers, but greatly enhances the children's learning. The authors in this collection describe inspirational initiatives in the teaching of literacy and the role of children's literature in multilingual primary classrooms. Accounts by teachers and researchers from the UK, Canada, France, New Zealand, Finland, Spain and Austria of recent innovative classroom-based research projects illustrate new conceptualizations of multilingual literacies and their pedagogical impact in the various teaching contexts. The book explores new forms of pedagogy and presents inspiring examples, such as the 'Little Books', that teachers can adapt to the circumstances and interests of all the children in their classrooms. Every teacher educator, and any school with children who speak languages other than the official one, needs this book.

eBook
As multicultural education is becoming integral to the core curriculum, teachers often implement this aspect into their courses through literature. However, standards and criteria to teach and promote active discussion about this literature are sparse. Cultural Journeys introduces pre-service and experienced teachers to the use of literature to promote active discussions that lead students to think about racial diversity. More than just an annotated list of books for children, Pamela S. Gates and Dianne L. Hall Mark provide systematic guidelines that teachers can use throughout their careers to evaluate multicultural literature for students in grades K-8. At the same time, the text leads the reader to a deeper understanding of how to use multicultural literature throughout the entire curriculum and not just during specially designated months or time periods. With the example unit plans and extensive annotated bibliography, this book is a valuable resource that pre-service teachers will utilize when they begin teaching and in-service teachers will reference repeatedly during their planning periods.

eBook
The essays in "Home Words" explore the complexity of the idea of home through various theoretical lenses and groupings of texts. One focus of this collection is the relation between the discourses of nation, which often represent the nation as home, and the discourses of home in children s literature, which variously picture home as a dwelling, family, town or region, psychological comfort, and a place to start from and return to. These essays consider the myriad ways in which discourses of home underwrite both children s and national literatures. "Home Words" reconfigures the field of Canadian children s literature as it is usually represented by setting the study of English- and French-language texts side by side, and by paying sustained attention to the diversity of work by Canadian writers for children, including both Aboriginal peoples and racialized Canadians. It builds on the literary histories, bibliographical essays, and biographical criticism that have dominated the scholarship to date and sets out to determine and establish new directions for the study of Canadian children s literature. "

This book describes the history and characteristics of ethnic and multicultural children's literature in the U.S., as well as related materials published elsewhere. It relates in great detail the people, businesses, organizations, and institutions that create, disseminate, promote, critique, and collect these materials. Author Donna Gilton gives a detailed history of U.S. multicultural and ethnic children's literature throughout several historic periods, relating these developments to general social and political U.S. history. Chapters illustrate characteristics of U.S. multicultural children's books, the major issues in the field, and multicultural initiatives and mainstream responses, while also providing outlines of research possibilities in the field and suggesting other groups of people who should be emphasized more in the future. In doing all this, Multicultural and Ethnic Children's Literature in the United States brings together valuable and scattered information for the busy and involved librarians, teachers, parents, publishers, distributors, and community leaders who wish to use and promote this material with children.

eBook
Preparing K-12 teachers to address today's social, cultural, and critical issues using multicultural children's books Written in an engaging style, this comprehensive text prepares K-12 teachers to address a wide range of contemporary social issues-such as violence, gender, war, terrorism, child labor, censorship, and disabilities-through multicultural children's literature. Each chapter includes sample lessons plans designed to encourage critical and creative thinking at the elementary and secondary levels and an annotated bibliography that makes it easy for teachers and librarians to choose multicultural children books that address specific critical issues.Key FeaturesThe evolution of multicultural children's literature is covered, including discussion of controversies and issues around its definitions and uses.Reflection Questions for the Teacher provide readers with practical techniques they can use as they prepare lessons around a given critical issue.Sample Response Lessons demonstrate how to address critical issues using multicultural literature in K-12 classrooms.  An Annotated Bibliography at the end of each chapter lists specific multicultural children's books organized around each critical issue.

eBook
This collection offers a thorough treatment of the ways in which the verbal and visual semiotic modes interrelate toward promoting gender equality and social inclusion in children's picture books. Drawing on cutting-edge theoretical work in multimodality, including multimodal cognitive linguistics, multimodal discourse analysis, and visual social semiotics, the book expands on descriptive-oriented studies to offer a more linguistically driven perspective on children's picture books. The volume explores the choice afforded to and the lexico-semantic and discursive strategies employed by writers and illustrators in conveying representational, interpersonal, and textual meanings in the verbal and non-verbal components in these narratives in order to challenge gender stereotypes and promote the social inclusion of same-sex parent families. This book will be of particular interest to students and scholars in multimodality, discourse analysis, social semiotics, and children's literature. Chapters 1 & 8 of this book are freely available as downloadable Open Access PDFs under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license available at http: //www.taylorfrancis.com.

This book presents the work from a selection of contributors who aim to provide educators with hands-on activities to encourage reflection, awareness, and dialogue related to social justice issues. Highlighting the need for teachers to intentionally create spaces where students from all backgrounds can work together and appreciate their differences, teachers and teacher educators showcase hands-on literacy strategies that all educators can adapt and use in their own classrooms to enhance social justice awareness.

Self-Study and Diversity II is a book about the self-study of teacher education practices in a diverse world. In this volume, the authors examine the preparation of teachers through a shared orientation to diversity grounded in a commitment to addressing issues of identity, equity, diversity, social justice, inclusion, and access in their professional practice.

This collection highlights important historical events, current debates, and new questions and critiques in the controversial issue of cultural authenticity in children's literature. Contributors include authors, illustrators, editors, publishers, educators, librarians, and scholars, including Rudine Sims Bishop, Jacqueline Woodson, Susan Guevara, Kathryn Lasky, Henry Louis Gates Jr., Joel Taxel, and Mingshui Cai. Essays address the social responsibility of authors, the role of imagination and experience in writing for young people, cultural sensitivity and values, authenticity of content and images, authorial freedom, and the role of literature in an education that is multicultural. A notable feature of the book is the interaction between contributors: writers refer to the texts, ideas, and stances of others in the volume, making it a valuable resource for practicing teachers, prospective teachers, librarians, teacher educators, or anyone who uses literature with young people.

eBook
Teaching Tough Topics shows teachers how to lead students to become caring citizens as they read and respond to quality children's literature. It focuses on topics that can be challenging or sensitive, yet are significant in order to build understanding of social justice, diversity, and equity. Racism, Homophobia, Bullying, Religious Intolerance, Poverty, and Physical and Mental Challenges are just some of the themes explored. The book is rooted in the belief that by using picture books, novels, poetry, and nonfiction, teachers can enrich learning with compassion and empathy as students make connections to texts, to others, and to the world.