Offers assistance citing electronic publications using the American Psychological Association (APA) editorial style. From the publisher of the complete guide, the 'Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association'. Also has information on APA style.
Format: Website, Coverage: Current, Truncation and Wildcard: None and None, Search Tips: No searching available. Full-text of the 'Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association' is not online, but partial information to citing print resour
Behavioral sciences database containing full-text and abstracts for journals, books, and book chapters. International coverage for psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education and pharmacology. Index is created by the American Psychological Association. More than 1.8 million entries. Entries are searchable by language, format, special population groups, classification codes, content type, intended audience, and special features.
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1887-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results. Some full-text publications may have the most current 3-12 months in abstract only, due to publisher restrictions.
Full-text from 860+ scholarly journals, with excellent coverage for criminology, psychology, sociology, health sciences and the humanities. Numerous journals also cover education, general and international business, and management.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1999-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Search results may include material earlier than our subscription. DO NOT pay for articles: use our Interlibrary Loan
A streaming video platform that enables access to thousands of films from such providers as PBS, National Geographic, NOVA, Ken Burns, BBC, Frontline, ABC, CBC, NBC, TED, Bill Moyers, the American Museum of Natural History, and many more.
Browse by subject collection or producer or search by title or words in transcript. You can also search by copyright date and limit by various advanced features including limiting to only those programs with closed-captioning. Link directly to individual films or to specific segments within them.
An ever-growing collection of eBooks and audiobooks for leisure and recreation. Available for a variety of formats, including Kindle, EPUB, MP3, and more. System allows users to conveniently recommend titles for purchase that we don't yet. Please do recommend what you're eager for!
Mental Wellness Books
Committed to the Sane Asylum by Susan Schellenberg; Rosemary Barnes
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
In "Committed to the Sane Asylum: Narratives on Mental Wellness and Healing," artist Susan Schellenberg, a former psychiatric patient, and psychologist Rosemary Barnes relate their own stories, conversations, and reflections concerning the contributions and limitations of conventional mental health care and their collaborative search for alternatives such as art therapy. Patient and doctor each describe personal decisions about the mental health system and the creative life possibilities that emerged when mind, body, and spirit were committed to well-being and healing. Interwoven patient/doctor narratives explain conventional care, highlight critical steps in healing, and explore varied perspectives through conversations with experts in psychiatry, feminist approaches, art, storytelling, and business. The book also includes reproductions of Susan s mental health records and dream paintings. This book will be important for consumers of mental health care wishing to understand the conventional system and develop the best quality of life. Rich personal detail, critical perspective, clinical records, and art reproductions make the book engaging for a general audience and stimulating as a teaching resource in nursing, social work, psychology, psychiatry, and art therapy. "
Spiritual, Religious, and Faith-Based Practices in Chronicity by Andrew R. Hatala (Editor); Kerstin Roger (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021-09-08
This book explores how people draw upon spiritual, religious, or faith-based practices to support their mental wellness amidst forms of chronicity. From diverse global contexts and spiritual perspectives, this volume critically examines several chronic conditions, such as psychosis, diabetes, depression, oppressive forces of colonization and social marginalization, attacks of spirit possession, or other forms of persistent mental duress. As an inter- and transdisciplinary collection, the chapters include innovative ethnographic observations and over 300 in-depth interviews with care providers and individuals living in chronicity, analyzed primarily from the phenomenological and hermeneutic meaning-making traditions. Overall, this book depicts a modern global era in which spiritualty and religion maintain an important role in many peoples' lives, underscoring a need for increased awareness, intersectoral collaboration, and practical training for varied care providers. This book will be of interest to scholars of religion and health, the sociology and psychology of religion, medical and psychological anthropology, religious studies, and global health studies, as well as applied health and mental health professionals in psychology, social work, physical and occupational therapy, cultural psychiatry, public health, and medicine.