Indexes practical and research literature on sport related topics. Covered areas include biomechanics; coaching and administration; exercise physiology; sport law, history and medicine; physical therapy and more. Includes full text for more than 530 of the indexed journals.
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1830 - present (mostly 1975 forward), Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Search by keyword, author, or journal title. Supports Boolean search terms AND, OR, and NOT. Limits include English language, format (article, book, dissertation) and scholarly nature.
Specific, detailed answers to clinical questions in nursing, sports and exercise sciences, communication disorders, and psychology. Original content that is written, reviewed and continually updated by a faculty of more than 5,100 leading physicians. Content includes over 9,500 topics in 21 specialties, a drug database and drug interactions program, 135 Medical calculators, What’s New (summary of important new findings by specialty), and patient education materials.
Physical Wellness Books
Concepts of Fitness and Wellness by Charles Corbin; Greg Welk; Karen Welk; William Corbin
Publication Date: 2012-10-25
Concepts of Fitness and Wellness provides readers with the self-management skills necessary to adopt a healthy lifestyle. Pioneering texts in this field, these revisions of Concepts are designed to deliver a comprehensive text and digital program that continues to be at the cutting edge of physical activity and health promotion, empowering students to make positive steps towards developing a lifelong commitment to being active. Building upon the tremendous success of previous editions, these new editions are being thoroughly fine-tuned to ensure that the writing style, examples, and illustrations are not only contemporary, but also accessible. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, so that your class time is more engaging and effective.
A Conversation about Healthy Eating by Nicholas A. Lesica
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
What constitutes a healthy diet? Mainstream media and advertisers would like you to think that the answer to this question is complicated and controversial. But science, fortunately, tells us otherwise.
A Conversation about Healthy Eating brings together all the relevant science about healthy eating in one place, and it's exactly that - a conversation; an informal discussion between a scientist and a friend about their eating habits,keeping the science firmly rooted in everyday life. The conversation moves from topics such as metabolism and digestion to gut bacteria, hormones, neuroscience and the immune system. All of these concepts are explained in accessible terms to help you understand the roles they play in maintaining a healthy diet.
Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning by NSCA -National Strength & Conditioning Association (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
Developed by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) and now in its fourth edition, Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning is the essential text for strength and conditioning professionals and students. This comprehensive resource, created by 30 expert contributors in the field, explains the key theories, concepts, and scientific principles of strength training and conditioning as well as their direct application to athletic competition and performance. The scope and content of Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition With HKPropel Access, have been updated to convey the knowledge, skills, and abilities required of a strength and conditioning professional and to address the latest information found on the Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) exam. The evidence-based approach and unbeatable accuracy of the text make it the primary resource to rely on for CSCS exam preparation. The text is organized to lead readers from theory to program design and practical strategies for administration and management of strength and conditioning facilities. The fourth edition contains the most current research and applications and several new features: Online videos featuring 21 resistance training exercises demonstrate proper exercise form for classroom and practical use. Updated research--specifically in the areas of high-intensity interval training, overtraining, agility and change of direction, nutrition for health and performance, and periodization--helps readers better understand these popular trends in the industry. A new chapter with instructions and photos presents techniques for exercises using alternative modes and nontraditional implements. Ten additional tests, including those for maximum strength, power, and aerobic capacity, along with new flexibility exercises, resistance training exercises, plyometric exercises, and speed and agility drills help professionals design programs that reflect current guidelines. Key points, chapter objectives, and learning aids including key terms and self-study questions provide a structure to help students and professionals conceptualize the information and reinforce fundamental facts. Application sidebars provide practical application of scientific concepts that can be used by strength and conditioning specialists in real-world settings, making the information immediately relatable and usable. Online learning tools delivered through HKPropel provide students with 11 downloadable lab activities for practice and retention of information. Further, both students and professionals will benefit from the online videos of 21 foundational exercises that provide visual instruction and reinforce proper technique. Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition, provides the most comprehensive information on organization and administration of facilities, testing and evaluation, exercise techniques, training adaptations, program design, and structure and function of body systems. Its scope, precision, and dependability make it the essential preparation text for the CSCS exam as well as a definitive reference for strength and conditioning professionals to consult in their everyday practice. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.
The Health Impact of Smoking and Obesity and What to Do about It by Hans Krueger; Dan Williams; Barbara Kaminsky; David McLean
Publication Date: 2007-01-06
Despite significant progress due to public health campaigns and other policy efforts, smoking continues to be a serious health threat throughout the world. In addition, sedentary lifestyles, poor diet, and obesity continue to be major causes of chronic diseases. The Health Impact of Smoking and Obesity and What to Do about It synthesizes a vast quantity of recent data on the benefits and cost-effectiveness of both clinical and public health interventions in addressing the risk factors of smoking and obesity. A large proportion of chronic disease is preventable. The Health Impact of Smoking and Obesity and What to Do about It provides solid evidence and practical advice to health care planners, decision-makers, and frontline providers alike. The volume discusses various approaches to measuring disease burden and setting health care targets, and provides a summary of interventions of proven effectiveness. Taking into account the vital lessons learned from the experience of tobacco control over forty years, and focusing on the current state of the evidence for obesity control, the study stresses the importance of comprehensive strategies that deal with both individual behaviour changes and the need to encourage social contexts that enhance healthy choices and lifestyles.
Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy by Brad J. Schoenfeld
Publication Date: 2016-06-24
Muscle hypertrophy--defined as an increase in muscular size--is one of the primary outcomes of resistance training. Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy is a comprehensive compilation of science-based principles to help professionals develop muscle hypertrophy in athletes and clients. With more than 825 references and applied guidelines throughout, no other resource offers a comparable quantity of content solely focused on muscle hypertrophy. Readers will find up-to-date content so they fully understand the science of muscle hypertrophy and its application to designing training programs. Written by Brad Schoenfeld, PhD, a leading authority on muscle hypertrophy, this text provides strength and conditioning professionals, personal trainers, sport scientists, researchers, and exercise science instructors with a definitive resource for information regarding muscle hypertrophy--the mechanism of its development, how the body structurally and hormonally changes when exposed to stress, ways to most effectively design training programs, and current nutrition guidelines for eliciting hypertrophic changes. The full-color book offers several features to make the content accessible to readers: * Research Findings sidebars highlight the aspects of muscle hypertrophy currently being examined to encourage readers to re-evaluate their knowledge and ensure their training practices are up to date. * Practical Applications sidebars outline how to apply the research conclusions for maximal hypertrophic development. * Comprehensive subject and author indexes optimize the book's utility as a reference tool. * An image bank containing most of the art, photos, and tables from the text allows instructors and presenters to easily teach the material outlined in the book. Although muscle hypertrophy can be attained through a range of training programs, this text allows readers to understand and apply the specific responses and mechanisms that promote optimal muscle hypertrophy in their athletes and clients. It explores how genetic background, age, sex, and other factors have been shown to mediate the hypertrophic response to exercise, affecting both the rate and the total gain in lean muscle mass. Sample programs in the text show how to design a three- or four-day-per-week undulating periodized program and a modified linear periodized program for maximizing muscular development. Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy is an invaluable resource for strength and conditioning professionals seeking to maximize hypertrophic gains and those searching for the most comprehensive, authoritative, and current research in the field.
Wellness by Rebecca J. Donatelle; Christine Snow; Anthony Wilcox
Publication Date: 1998-10-07
This text provides a balanced approach to wellness with equal coverage of physical fitness and personal health topics. It reflects a wellness approach considering how we can be well spiritually, mentally, and physically.