Discover: Articles, Books, and More
You can cast a wide net to find information by using our "Discover" search available below as well as on the library's homepage.
Note: For more information on the search parameters of the search box, please click the "What is this searching?" link.
Research Process and Evaluation
The research process can look different for everyone and may look different from project to project, but most will have a few common features:
- Begin with a question you want to answer.
- What are you most interested in learning?
- Decide what type of information you need.
- Do you need newspapers, books, or scholarly articles?
- Gather and evaluate information.
- Are your sources current, reliable, applicable, and unbiased?
- Is your question answered? Do you need more (or different) information? Do you need to change your question?
- Repeat 1-4 until you're ready to use the information, make a decision, write a paper, present, etc.
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to determine if the information you have is accurate and reliable. Keep in mind, the type of source you need will depend on the situation. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your needs.
C = Currency: The timeliness of the information.
R = Relevancy: The importance of the information for your needs.
A = Authority: The source of the information.
A = Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the informational content.
P = Purpose: The reason the information exists.
Key Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.8 million citations about language, literature, linguistics and folklore (culture). Source types include journals, books, dissertations, bibliographies and conference proceedings. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text of more than 175 journals, focusing primarily on humanities and language. Some coverage for the performing arts, social sciences, and education. Almost all publications are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 25 journals continue the JSTOR coverage of the publication.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window** Expanded access continues as we work to implement a new contract for JSTOR's new all-access model, which will provide access to all archival journals and primary source content. **
Back volumes for 2,890 journals from the very first issue but usually excluding the most current 2-5 years, though almost 100 with coverage through the most recent issue. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the premier dictionary of English language, with more than 600,000 words. Search for a specific word or phrase, or browse by categories, language, region, etc. Each word has definitions, examples, pronunciation guide and chronology of usage. Updated four times a year with new words and revised entries.
If there is something you need and we do not have -
You can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details(ILL).
- Request a book or article.
- Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks, books may take longer.