Find Books
You may also find books using the search box above by:
- Check the box for Catalog Only
- Or use the tab for Books+
- Type a phrase in "quotation marks"
Subject Headings
If you find one on-topic book, look at its subject headings. Clicking on any of the subject links is a brand-new search.
Example via Discover and the Catalog
Example via eBook Collection Database
How to Browse Catalog - Subject Headings
Basic Subject Browse
To browse a list of subject headings:
- Use the Browse Search
- Type in a possible word(s) and search. For example, freedom of the press.
Advance Searching Using Subject Terms
- Use the Advanced Search of the Catalog.
- Change "Any field" to "Subject"
- Insert search terms. For example, search for the exact phrase freedom of speech in the subject headings and search the word media anywhere.
- Place Ethics in the subject serach field
- Place Mass Media in the second search field
- Change "contains" to "is (exact)" for the dropdown next to Mass Media
You will be looking at the list of books by relevance--the most pertinent items first.
Instead, you could sort the results to view the most recent books first:
Browse Books
Mass Media, etc.
| Subject | LC Call Number |
|---|---|
| Communication - Mass Media | P 87 - P 96 |
| Journalism and the periodical press (general) | PN 4699 - PN 5650 |
| Government and the press | PN 4735 - PN 4748 |
| Magazine journalism | PN 4832 - PN 4836 |
| Journalism by region or country | PN 4840 - PN 5648 |
| Broacasting | PN 1990 - PN 1992.92 |
| Radio broadcasts | PN 1991 - PN 1991.9 |
| Televison broadcasts | PN 1992 - PN 1992.92 |
| Photojournalism/documentary | TR 820 - TR 820.6 |
| Public relations | HD 59 - HD 59.6 |
| Advertising | HF 5801 - HF 6182.2 |
Where are the Books?
You may check out books from the Loan Shelves. On the 2nd floor of the library are the books that begin with the call number A - L. On the 1st floor of the library are the books that begin with the call number M - Z.
eBook Collection
When located through the Cornette Library, an eBook is as reputable as a book in print.
All books in the eBook Collection are cataloged in the database WorldCat. New eBook titles are added to the Cornette Library catalog twice a year.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online collection of 200,000+ texts, fully viewable onscreen. Most of these ebboks can also be downloaded to a personal device. Most allow unlimited simultaneous users; each book's record in the database will indicate if there is any limit and, if so, whether it's been reached. Search by title, author, subject, and keyword, full-text, publisher, publication date and ISBN.
