Skip to main content

McNair Scholars

Discover Search

Discover Search Explained

Simultaneously searches most of our databases, including Web of Science and ebook collection, plus the library catalog. Note:

  • Watch dates on sources carefully - use limiters of needed.
  • Choices to refine search results are to the left of the results list
  • May select Scholarly (Peer reviewed) journals. This is at the publication level - evaluate the item you intend to use.
  • Full text may be via PDF, the Link Source link, or the Full-Text link.
  • If not available in print or electronically, use Interlibrary Loan.

Specific databases

Sometimes it can be more helpful to search in subject specific databases. These databases occasionally have limiters specifically relevant for those disciples, and can also provide a more narrow focus on your topic. You can try any of the databases below, or find other databases in our Databases A-Z list.

Dissertations and Theses

While dissertations and theses are not peer-reviewed, they are considered scholarly research, and also contain extensive bibliographies which can help you locate relevant articles quickly. We have a database to search just dissertations and theses.

Developing Keywords

Make a research question from your topic.

  • For example: "What is currently being done to help conserve the endangered Giant Panda population?"
    • Keywords: conserve and Giant Panda

Think of related words.

  • Conserve: conservation, preservation, protection
  • Giant Panda: panda, Ailuropoda melanoleuca (scientific name).

Get searching!

Search Tips

Think of keywords that relate to your topic to begin your reasearch.

Boolean Operators are the words AND, OR and NOT that can be used to combine keywords in ways to narrow your search results.

Use Boolean Modifiers to further define and narrow your search.