InfoGuides: THRE 1373: Fundamentals of Design: More Online Image Sources

Start Here

Digital Public Library of America
Over 13 million digitized images, documents, recordings and more from libraries, museums, and archives. Among its various specific pages that may be useful is this list of primary source sets.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
About 1.2 million searchable images from the Library of Congress's pictorial holdings.
Harper's Bazaar 1867-1900
Archive available through Cornell.
VADS, the Visual Arts Data Service
Based at the Farnham Campus of the University College for the Creative Arts in Great Britain, this site offers over freely available 100,000 images in many specific organized and searchable collections.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections
Over 260,000 images of art works, including costumes and clothing from a wide range of eras. Lots of convenient ways to narrow and focus search. Over 16,000 images of costume items since 1900, nearly 8,000 from between 1800 and 1900, about 2500 from the years between 1600 & 1800, and hundreds more from earlier centuries.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost access to digitized primary source documents from the late 17th through early 20th centuries in the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection. It includes over 8 million items from several thousand magazines, journals, and other periodical publications from 1684 through 1912, covering "advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more."

You can also choose any of 50 different more focused thematic collections of these periodicals. To combine multiple collections together, after you click through into one, click "Choose Databases" at the top and select additional collections to add to your search set.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable full text of the following newspapers:
- The New York Times—1851-2019
- Wall Street Journal—1889-2011
- Washington Post—1877-2007
- Los Angeles Times—1881-1999
- The Chicago Tribune—1849-1998

The Teenie Harris Photograph Collection
Visual images from the 1920s-1970s taken by Pittsburgh photographer Charles “Teenie” Harris document life in the black communities of Pittsburgh, including weddings, funerals, family portraits, church events, street scenes, businessmen, and mill workers. Held by the Carnegie Museum of Art.
Ebony Magazine archives at Google Books
Ebony has been a major monthly magazine focused on and directed toward African-Americans since 1945. Google Books has the digitized archives of every issue since 1959.
Jet Magazine archives at Google Books
Jet magazine was a weekly magazine marketed toward African-Americans, published from 1951 to 2014. Google Books has the digitized archives of all issues since 1951.

OAIster searches digital archives at universities, museum, and libraries worldwide.
Choose "----Downloadable image" for Format under "Narrow your search."
When using Boolean operators here such as AND, OR, & NOT, be sure to capitalize.

Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Typical response time is within 1 business day.
Stop by the first floor Research or Access desks anytime the library is open
Renew items using the My Account feature of the online catalog
Follow us on Facebook and/or X/Twitter.