Discover Search Explained
Simultaneously searches dozens of our databases, including Web of Science and ebook collection, plus the library catalog. Note:
- Watch dates on sources carefully - use limiters if needed.
- Choices to refine search results are to the right of the results list
- May select Scholarly (Peer reviewed) journals. This is at the publication level - evaluate the item you intend to use.
- Full text often available by clicking link under "View It" on item record.
- If not available in print or electronically, use Interlibrary Loan.
Databases & Scholarly Articles
Library Databases may contain:
- scholarly articles
- newspapers or magazines
- images or historical documents
- full-text books
Search This Database First
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Other Databases with Important Content
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1.7 million dissertations and masters theses from U.S. and international academic institutions and abstracting and indexing for 3.8 million. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window** Expanded access continues as we work to implement a new contract for JSTOR's new all-access model, which will provide access to all archival journals and primary source content. **
Back volumes for 2,890 journals from the very first issue but usually excluding the most current 2-5 years, though almost 100 with coverage through the most recent issue. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics. - Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new windowCurrent sociology journals include: American Sociological Review, Contemporary Sociology, Sociology of Education, and Teaching Sociology
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowCurrent sociology and social work journals include: American Sociologist, Qualitative Sociology, Sociological Forum, and Sociological Practice,
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowCurrent sociology and social work journals include: Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services, Journal of HIV/AIDS & Social Services, Journal of Mathematical Sociology, Journal of Social Service Research, Social Thought
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowCurrent sociology and social work journals include: The British Journal of Sociology, Child & Family Social Work, Rural Sociology, Sociological Forum, Sociological Methodology, and Sociological Theory.
Interlibrary Loan
Found or need information (e.g. articles, books, etc.) that we don't have access to? You can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).
- Request a book or article.
- Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.
WTAMU students, faculty, staff, and Friends of Cornette Library (Supporting level and above) can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow research materials from the collections of other libraries.
ILL Office hours are Monday-Friday 8AM to 5PM. Contact the Interlibrary Loan department at (806) 651-2406.
Delivery could take as little as a couple of days or as much as three weeks. See here for more information about Interlibrary Loan. Click here for our ILL FAQs. For our Interlibrary Loan policies click our Library policies section then select Interlibrary Loan.