InfoGuides: History (World): Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

What is this searching?

Databases & Scholarly Articles

Library Databases may contain:

scholarly articles
newspapers or magazines
images or historical documents
full-text books

Start Here

Other Databases with Important Content

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary-source documents, fully searchable. Seven specific collection areas:
Format: Full-text, Coverage Varies by collection, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? (1 char.) or ! (1 or 0 char.) Advanced search limiters include date, with an option to include undated items. Option for fuzzy searches expands the results.

Important: The Archives Unbound platform uses Adobe Flash to display documents, and Adobe Flash is not enabled by default with Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Apple's Safari, or Microsoft's new Edge browser.

On computers in WT's labs or libraries, Use Microsoft's legacy browser Internet Explorer (IE). (Note the difference between IE and Edge.)

On your own Windows computer, if you don't see IE, try searching for Explorer, and you may find that browser. Alternately, you likely should be able, on your own computer (Windows or Mac), to enable Flash for Chrome or Firefox.

Finally, you can also find, view, and download all the documents in these collections through the Gale Primary Sources platform, which searches Archives Unbound along with, optionally, Eighteenth Century Collections Online. It doesn't allow convenient limitation to a specific Archives Unbound collection beforehand, though, so you may want to use the facets on the left to narrow to a collection afterward.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1.7 million dissertations and masters theses from U.S. and international academic institutions and abstracting and indexing for 3.8 million.
Format: Frequently full-text, Coverage: Citations since 1637. Some full-text from 1743. Truncation and Wildcard: ? and *, Search Tips: May combine searches in a single research session.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digital images, fully text searchable of 150,000 books printed in the 18th century, primarily in Great Britain. General subject areas are: history and geography; social sciences and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; language and literature; philosophy and religion; law; and general reference. Includes the complete works of Henry Fielding, Edmund Burke, Alexander Pope, Thomas Paine, Benjamin Franklin and Jonathan Swift. 3 million pages total.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1701-1800, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Initial articles (a, an and the) are used for alphabetizing the list of works included. The wildcard ? replaces exactly one character in searches, while the ! replaces 1 or 0 characters. Supports Boolean AND, OR and NOT. Use parentheses to group phrases and search terms. Also supports proximity operators W and N.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable access to more than 175 specific encyclopedias in many subjects, including business, social sciences, history, biography, religion, popular culture, and much more.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1993-2007 publication dates, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Search by title, keyword, author, subject, ISBN, full-text, and image caption. Limit by date, document type, or audience type. You can also drill down through a subject classification list from general to specific.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
** Expanded access continues as we work to implement a new contract for JSTOR's new all-access model, which will provide access to all archival journals and primary source content. **

Back volumes for 2,890 journals from the very first issue but usually excluding the most current 2-5 years, though almost 100 with coverage through the most recent issue. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics.
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Dates vary with beginning date of journal., Truncation and Wildcard: + and ----, Search Tips: Boolean commands are supported. Use quotation marks to search keywords as a phrase.
New York Times (1851-2017) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Images of all material published in this important U.S. newspaper. Articles, advertising, letters, funeral notices and photos are all included. Fully searchable and browsable.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Sept. 18, 1851-Dec. 31, 2017, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Supports Boolean operators AND, AND NOT, and OR. Also supports proximity and adjacency searches. W/# finds words that are within # of words or each other. W/PARA finds terms within the same paragraph.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 175 journals, focusing primarily on humanities and language. Some coverage for the performing arts, social sciences, and education. Almost all publications are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 25 journals continue the JSTOR coverage of the publication.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies, begins as early as 1995, Truncation and Wildcard: * and None, Search Tips: Use quotations for phrase searching. Supports Boolean AND, OR and NOT. Group complex search strings with parentheses. Browsable help section and journals list. Use advanced search to specify field types for search string. E-mailed articles are sent as a URL link to the individual article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1970-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and * for (any), ? for (1), $ for (0 or 1), Search Tips: Default search is for terms in the order they are entered, use quotation marks for a phrase. Search options include author, title, keyword, and subject. Author first name is initials only. Supports logical connectors AND, OR, NOT, and SAME. Can limit to one or two of the included indexes.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Has over 246 million bibliographic records of books, websites and Internet resources, computer programs, films and slides, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, and videotapes.
Format: Citations, Coverage: Before 1000 B.C.E. to present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and # or ?, Search Tips: After searching, use 'Related Subjects' for additional subject search terms. Omit punctuation (apostrophes, commas, etc.), but may use ampersands and hyphens. Enter a space instead of a slash. Search names as Lastname Firstname Middlename without commas. '?Help' link is on each screen.

Evaluate Resources

Click image for more information

Interlibrary Loan

Found or need information (e.g. articles, books, etc.) that we don't have access to? You can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).

Request a book or article.
Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.

WTAMU students, faculty, staff, and Friends of Cornette Library (Supporting level and above) can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow research materials from the collections of other libraries.

ILL Office hours are Monday-Friday 8AM to 5PM. Contact the Interlibrary Loan department at (806) 651-2406.

Delivery could take as little as a couple of days or as much as three weeks. See here for more information about Interlibrary Loan. Click here for our ILL FAQs. For our Interlibrary Loan policies click our Library policies section then select the Interlibrary Loan.

Request an Item

Ask A Librarian

Having trouble? Ask!

Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Typical response time is within 1 business day.
Stop by the first floor Research or Access desks anytime the library is open

History (World)

Search Discover Databases,Books, or Reserves