Skip to main content

English

Digital Resources

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Created by a librarian, and hosted by Berkeley, Alex provides access to a variety of full-text versions of literature's greatest works. The focus is towards British and American Literature with some Classical materials.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
In addition to providing full-text access to all of Shakespeare's plays and poetry, this site also has a section on famous quotations from Shakespeare, a chronological list of the plays and a search engine that allows all of Shakespeare's works to be searched simultaneously. The site is provided by MIT.
The EServer: Accessible Online Publishing
Based at Iowa State University, The English Server consists of a wealth of information relating to studies in the humanities. Most notably, the English Server offers full-text access to fiction, non-fiction, drama, journals, criticism, poetry and more. The server also has a section dedicated to eighteenth century studies.
Internet Classics Archive Project
Hosted at MIT, this site provides access to about 500 works by about 70 authors. The focus is on Greco-Roman sources.
Internet Public Library Literature - Online Texts
Substantial link collection referencing online collections of literature from around the globe, and from classical to modern times.
Oxford Text Archives
Includes several thousand electronic texts, in a variety of languages, such as "electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora".
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
Full-text access to reference books, poetry, fiction, and non-fiction.
Project Gutenberg
Perhaps the best known source of full-text literature, Project Gutenberg provides online access to literature and reference material from all over the world, with an emphasis on english language resources. Nearly 10,000 titles are made available through Project Gutenberg.
Representative Poetry On-line
The University of Toronto hosts this site that provides full-text access to the works of several hundred poets. The focus is mainly on British and American poetry.

General Resources

English Literature on the Web
This site, provided by a literature student at Nagoya University in Japan serves up an exhaustive series of links focusing mainly on American and British Literature. Last updated 2003. The links are broken down by time period, although sections on E-text archives, American authors and British authors are included.
Literary Resources on the Net
This is an exhaustive list of links to literary resources provided by an Assistant Professor of English at Rutgers University. Links are broken down by time period as well as the following: theatre and drama, theory, women's literature and feminism, ethnicities and nationalities, other national literatures, bibliography and history of the book. Although sections on classical and medieval European literature are provided, the focus of this site is American and British literature. Some annotations are provided.
The Literary Web
The School of Information Sciences at the University of Tennessee provides this page of literary links. The site is broken down into the following sections: authors, books, children's literature, journals, literary resources, poetry and writing resources. Annotations are provided.
Online Literary Criticism Collection
The Internet Public Library provides these links to literary criticism covering British, Colonial, and American literature. You can browse by time period, by title, or by author. Annotations are provided.
Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature Page (Internet Archive)
Voice of the Shuttle is a directory of humanities resources on the Web, provided by the University of California, Santa Barbara. It is probably the most comprehensive literature directory on the Web. Voice of the Shuttle provides links to British and American literature while also providing links to English literature from Africa, Australia, Canada, the Caribbean, Ireland, New Zealand, the Subcontinent and Wales. Links are broken down by time period, geographic area and by genre. Annotations are provided.
WWW Resources for English and American Literature
Indiana University Bloomington's library system provides these links to a variety of resources. Materials are broken down by nationality (American and British) and time period. There are also sections on creative writing and 'other literatures in English'. Annotations are provided.

World Literature

A Celebration of Women Writers
This page, a product of the On-line Books Page and hosted by Carnegie Mellon University, provides links to sites about women writers from around the globe. The links are broken down by time period and nationality. This source provides a good deal of information about women writers from foreign countries.
Online Text Collections in Western European Literature
This is a Wiki put together by academic librarians from around the country. It includes links to lists of reference resources for European literature. Some of the resources are in English while some are in other European languages.
Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature: Other Literatures in English (Internet Archive)
Voice of the Shuttle is a directory of humanities resources on the Web, provided by the University of California, Santa Barbara. It is probably the most comprehensive literature directory on the Web. The section on Other Literatures Written in English includes English literature resources from Africa, Australia and New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, Ireland, Scotland, South Asia, and Wales. Links are broken down by time period, geographic area and by genre. Short annotations are provided.
Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures Other Than English (Internet Archive)
In addition to general links, includes sections on Arabic, African, Chinese, Classical, Dutch, Eastern European, French, Gaelic/Celtic, German, Greek, Guatemalan, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Russian, Scandinavian, Spanish & Portuguese, South Asian, Turkish, and Welsh literature. Links are broken down by time period, geographic area and by genre. Short annotations are provided.

Reference Sources

BookSpot: Book Awards
Links to sites listing the winners of various book awards. Includes brief descriptions of the awards.
Literary Timeline
From The National Council of Teachers of English American Collection, the site marks out significant literary events for each day of the year. A worthwhile site for the literary enthusiast. Has to point to a given month, rather than an index of all, so select the month you prefer from its drop-down menu.
English Literature: A Guide to Reference Sources
A useful guide to conducting research in literature provided by the Cornell University library system. Focusing on print sources, the guide alerts the user to the major research resources used in the study of literature. Note that the call numbers indicated in this guide are not necessarily the call numbers for items held at WTAMU. Search the library catalog, by title, to see if we have a given source and to establish where the source is located.