InfoGuides: Research Methods Core: Step 2

Step 2: Begin your research. Collect information and articles.

The Filter Bubble

Watch this video to learn why you do not want to totally rely on Google for your research.

How to "De-Personalize" Search Results

CNET article "Five Ways to Depersonalize Google Search Results"

Use private browsing (available in all major browsers).
If you have a Google account (Gmail, Drive, Google+, etc.) click the globe icon in the top-right corner to toggle personalized results off and on.
Use "Search Settings" to choose "Do not use personal results".
Set browser to clear history and delete cookies when closed. Use new browser for searching.
Create your own depersonalized search engine. This only works with Chrome.

Additional Suggestions:

Try using DuckDuckGo for searches. Pledges anonymity. Available as a Firefox or Internet Explorer search add on.
Don't click links in Facebook: copy the link and view in a different browser.
Don't stay logged into Facebook, Google, Pinterest, etc... while browsing and searching.

Library databases NEVER apply filters that you are unaware of. Search results are not influenced by previous searches unless YOU decide to leave selected filters in place!

Search Tips

Think of keywords that relate to your topic to begin your research.

Boolean Operators are the words AND, OR and NOT that can be used to combine keywords in ways to narrow your search results.

Use Boolean Modifiers to further define and narrow your search.

Start With These Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexing of more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and full text of more than 8,000, with coverage in such subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
ERIC (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Educational index of research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Consists of the print indexes Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1966 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and # or ?, Search Tips: Omit punctuation (apostrophes, commas, etc.), but may use ampersands and hyphens. Search names as Lastname Firstname Middlename without commas. For list of journals, click on the 'I' icon, then 'All titles for ERIC'. '?Help' link on each screen.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1.7 million dissertations and masters theses from U.S. and international academic institutions and abstracting and indexing for 3.8 million.
Format: Frequently full-text, Coverage: Citations since 1637. Some full-text from 1743. Truncation and Wildcard: ? and *, Search Tips: May combine searches in a single research session.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1970-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and * for (any), ? for (1), $ for (0 or 1), Search Tips: Default search is for terms in the order they are entered, use quotation marks for a phrase. Search options include author, title, keyword, and subject. Author first name is initials only. Supports logical connectors AND, OR, NOT, and SAME. Can limit to one or two of the included indexes.

Interlibrary Loan

Found or need information (e.g. articles, books, etc.) that we don't have access to? You can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).

Request a book or article.
Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.

WTAMU students, faculty, staff, and Friends of Cornette Library (Supporting level and above) can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow research materials from the collections of other libraries.

ILL Office hours are Monday-Friday 8AM to 5PM. Contact the Interlibrary Loan department at (806) 651-2406.

Delivery could take as little as a couple of days or as much as three weeks. See here for more information about Interlibrary Loan. Click here for our ILL FAQs. For our Interlibrary Loan policies click our Library policies section then select the Interlibrary Loan.

Request an Item