** Until June 30, 2022, due to the COVID-19 crisis, JSTOR is providing free access to a much greater number of journals. **
Back volumes for 880 journals from the very first issue but excluding the most current 2-5 years. About 20 titles have coverage through the most recent issue, and about 5 have current but not historical coverage. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics.
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Dates vary with beginning date of journal., Truncation and Wildcard: + and ----, Search Tips: Boolean commands are supported. Use quotation marks to search keywords as a phrase.
Educational index of research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Consists of the print indexes Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1966 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results. Some full-text publications may have the most current 3-12 months in abstract only, due to publisher restrictions.
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 600 periodicals and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results.
Grove Music Online is built from a print source published since 1878 and its sibling publications, plus hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition, and is presented on the Oxford Music Online platform. Grove Music Online offers over 57,000 articles written by over 9,000 music scholars.
Terms searched in Grove Music Online can then also be easily searched in the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music, with links off to the articles in those sources on the Oxford Reference platform.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001)
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002)
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992)
The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994)
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013; in process)
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014; in process)
RILM offers "nearly a million bibliographic records" covering musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, and more, with "in-depth vocabulary-controlled indexing and detailed abstract texts." This enhanced version includes more than 200 journals, 90 of which are not available online anywhere else.
Multi-disciplinary academic resource. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language, arts, literature, and medicine. Includes scholarly full-text articles from over 7,300 sources, with an additional 1,000 full-text sources. Indexes more than 10,000 periodicals
Coverage: Varies by title. Mostly mid90s - present., Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, page length, publication name and type.
A streaming video platform that enables access to thousands of films from such providers as PBS, National Geographic, NOVA, Ken Burns, BBC, Frontline, ABC, CBC, NBC, TED, Bill Moyers, the American Museum of Natural History, and many more.
Browse by subject collection or producer or search by title or words in transcript. You can also search by copyright date and limit by various advanced features including limiting to only those programs with closed-captioning. Link directly to individual films or to specific segments within them.
Full-text of more than 680 journals, focusing primarily on humanities and language. Some coverage for the performing arts, social sciences, and education. Almost all publications are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 25 journals continue the JSTOR coverage of the publication.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies, begins as early as 1995, Truncation and Wildcard: * and None, Search Tips: Use quotations for phrase searching. Supports Boolean AND, OR and NOT. Group complex search strings with parentheses. Browsable help section and journals list. Use advanced search to specify field types for search string. E-mailed articles are sent as a URL link to the individual article.
General Music Today (GMT), is an peer-reviewed online journal that publishes articles that describe successful practices, share teaching strategies and/or materials, suggest new ideas, or analyze issues of concern to general music education professionals teaching at levels from early childhood through high school.
Journal of Research in Music Education is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal comprising reports of original research related to music teaching and learning. The wide range of topics includes various aspects of music pedagogy, history, and philosophy, and addresses vocal, instrumental, and general music at all levels, from early childhood through adult.
Music Education Research includes articles which report on and discuss research and methodological issues from the point of view of philosophy, sociology, psychology and comparative studies. The journal is concerned with the dissemination of ideas relating to practical and theoretical developments in the field.
Published quarterly, Music Educators Journal offers peer-reviewed scholarly and practical articles on music teaching approaches and philosophies, instructional techniques, current trends and issues in music education in schools and communities and the latest in products and services.
PMER includes articles addressing philosophical or theoretical issues relevant to music education; responses to articles that have appeared in PMER, or comments on other issues relevant to the philosophy of music education; and book reviews, offering critical analysis of recent publications dealing with philosophical or theoretical issues in music education.
This internationally peer-reviewed journal, published on behalf of SEMPRE, promotes the dissemination and discussion of high quality research in music and music education. The journal encourages the interrogation and development of a range of research methodologies and their application to diverse topics in music education theory and practice.