InfoGuides: ENGL 1301 & 1302: Find Articles

Discover

Scholarly Articles

What is this searching?

Databases & Scholarly Articles

Library Databases may contain:

scholarly articles
newspapers or magazines
images or historical documents
full-text books

Evaluate Resources

Click image for more information

Search Strategies

Boolean Operators are words and symbols that group keywords in specific ways.

Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases. Example: “opening credits” AND typography

Use OR to search for information about one term, and also articles about another term. Example: film OR cinema

Use NOT to exclude a particular term, word, or subject out of the results.

Group keywords together with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase. Example: “alfred hitchcock”
Use the asterisk * if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword. Example: sequenc* = sequence, sequences, sequencing
Use parenthesis to direct the database to perform specific operations first.

Start Here

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.8 million citations about language, literature, linguistics and folklore (culture). Source types include journals, books, dissertations, bibliographies and conference proceedings.
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Begins 1920 - present. Updates 9 times/yr., Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results. Some full-text publications may have the most current 3-12 months in abstract only, due to publisher restrictions.

Other Databases with Important Content

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource ends August 31, 2023 with the end of the contract between EBSCO and the state's TexShare program.

Multi-disciplinary academic resource. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language, arts, literature, and medicine. Includes scholarly full-text articles from over 7,300 sources, with an additional 1,000 full-text sources. Indexes more than 10,000 periodicals
Coverage: Varies by title. Mostly mid90s - present., Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, page length, publication name and type.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Same-day access to the news, career, and research articles and notes published in the major trade journal for higher education. Includes contents of weekly print issue, and online news features. Special topics include faculty, students, research, athletics, money, and information technology. Basic search results will return articles that match any one or more of the terms entered. See Search tips below for information on narrowing search results.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1995-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to search a phrase, use a plus sign (+) to require a term, use a minus sign (-) to exclude a term, use a tilde (~) to search for synonyms.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive research database in the field of communications, this resource results from a merger of EBSCO’s Communication and Mass Media Complete with SAGE's Communications Abstracts. It indexes and abstracts over 1000 core journals, nearly 400 more than in CMMC, and its active full text for more than 600 journals includes 150 full-text titles not available in CMMC.

It also has a subject-specific, browsable thesaurus featuring 4,528 preferred and 8,528 non-preferred terms and coverage dating back to 1915.

Coverage includes advertising, rhetoric, communication disorders and much more.
Coverage: Varies, mostly mid-1990s forward, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digital images, fully text searchable of 150,000 books printed in the 18th century, primarily in Great Britain. General subject areas are: history and geography; social sciences and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; language and literature; philosophy and religion; law; and general reference. Includes the complete works of Henry Fielding, Edmund Burke, Alexander Pope, Thomas Paine, Benjamin Franklin and Jonathan Swift. 3 million pages total.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1701-1800, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Initial articles (a, an and the) are used for alphabetizing the list of works included. The wildcard ? replaces exactly one character in searches, while the ! replaces 1 or 0 characters. Supports Boolean AND, OR and NOT. Use parentheses to group phrases and search terms. Also supports proximity operators W and N.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google scholar is a specialized Google service that searches the web for material that MAY be scholarly. Using the special link above and signing in with your WTAMU ID provides free access to full-text of items located in WTAMU's subscriptions.
Format: , Coverage: Varies, mostly mid 1990s - present, Truncation and Wildcard: None and None, Search Tips: To search specifically for an author, use the format author:"j smith" or author:smith. The "Advanced Search Page" allows greater specificity. Words can be searched as exact phrase, without a specific word, in specific publications, with specified authors, and within a specified time frame. Google Scholar will also search within subject areas. Using a + in front of a common word (such as the, and, or) makes sure the term is included in the results. Using a - in front of a term excludes items containing the word.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
** Until June 30, 2023, due to the COVID-19 crisis, JSTOR is providing free access to a much greater number of journals. **

Back volumes for 880 journals from the very first issue but excluding the most current 2-5 years. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics.
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Dates vary with beginning date of journal., Truncation and Wildcard: + and ----, Search Tips: Boolean commands are supported. Use quotation marks to search keywords as a phrase.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on some 2,500 literary writers and their works. Identifiers include ethnicity, nationality, literary period, genre, theme and literary/historical timeline.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1993 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Boolean commands. Proximity searching. Use ( ) to construct powerful searches.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
We are downgrading our Project MUSE subscription effective December 31, 2022, moving from the Premium Collection to the Basic College Collection. Please see the linked section of our Cancellations guide for more details.
Full-text of more than 680 journals, focusing primarily on humanities and language. Some coverage for the performing arts, social sciences, and education. Almost all publications are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 25 journals continue the JSTOR coverage of the publication.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies, begins as early as 1995, Truncation and Wildcard: * and None, Search Tips: Use quotations for phrase searching. Supports Boolean AND, OR and NOT. Group complex search strings with parentheses. Browsable help section and journals list. Use advanced search to specify field types for search string. E-mailed articles are sent as a URL link to the individual article.
Scribner Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Biographical and critical material about authors, from Classical Greek and Roman writers to the present. Primary focus is American and British authors. Includes more then 2000 essays. Material is a subset of Gale's Literature Resource Center.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Greek classics - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: In-depth search uses drop-down menus to specify gender, genre, language, time period, and nationality/ethnicity. Author names and keywords can also be added.
Twayne's Authors Series This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of the book-length premier reference series Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors. Covers about 600 significant world writers. For each author there will be a chronological biography, a complete list of works, comprehensive critical analysis, and a bibliography. Text is equivalent to about 200 printed pages. Material is a subset of Gales' Literature Resource Center.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Classical antiquity - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: In-depth search uses drop-down menus to specify gender, genre, language, time period, and nationality/ethnicity. Author names and keywords can also be added.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1970-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and * for (any), ? for (1), $ for (0 or 1), Search Tips: Default search is for terms in the order they are entered, use quotation marks for a phrase. Search options include author, title, keyword, and subject. Author first name is initials only. Supports logical connectors AND, OR, NOT, and SAME. Can limit to one or two of the included indexes.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a book or article that we don't have, you can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).

Request a book or article.
Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.

Ask A Librarian

Having trouble? Ask!

Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Most responses within 1 business day.
Stop by the first floor Research & Access Desk anytime the library is open

ENGL 1301 & 1302