EDRD 3302: Reading Skills I

The full collection of the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics as of August 2020, including 400 volumes, all viewable online with each chapter available to be downloaded as a PDF.

As the publisher notes, it "offers thousands of comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers. For the author Companions, each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analysed,either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed."

We also have many literary volumes from the Cambridge Histories Online collection.

Not one database but over a dozen different databases on the EBSCOhost platform, covering a wide array of topics and sources, combined here to search them all at once.

Great for business, economics, nursing, health sciences, communication, education, literary studies, music, psychology, public administration, social work, and sports & exercise sciences.

Not as great for history, natural and applied sciences, the arts, philosophy, sociology, or magazines/newspapers.

Scholarly research database from EBSCO covering early childhood to higher education and diverse educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Indexing for more than 3500 journals and full text for over 2000 journals, 500 books, and 1700 conference papers. Coverage from 1800 to present.

Indexing of more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and full text of more than 8,000, with coverage in such subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

Specialized tool for discovery of recreational reading.

Full-text database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on some 2,500 literary writers and their works. Identifiers include ethnicity, nationality, literary period, genre, theme and literary/historical timeline.

More than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports covering such educational specialties and topics as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, and policy.

Adds multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books with thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in grades K–12, including videos, pronunciation guides and other About the Author materials, lesson plans, activity guides