Counseling

eBook
"There is no one method for doing culturally alert counseling. Instead, culturally alert counseling consists of intentionally adapting existing ways to help clients (1) understand their socially constructed worldviews through culture, (2) appreciate their various cultures, (3) to make choices about adherence to cultural norms, and (4) to recognize and respond to external bias relating to their cultural group membership."

eBook
"Jill Schwarz' book, Counseling Women Across the Life Span: Empowerment, Advocacy, and Intervention, will be an excellent addition to any gender library, or a course in gender. It is a solid and innovation text." -- Catherine B. Roland, Ed.D, LPC, NCC, President, American Counseling Association (2016-2017) This book, the first comprehensive text to focus specifically on counseling women and girls, provides a sweeping overview of female life span development and issues and offers a unique integration of prevention, advocacy, and interventions. With contributions from leading scholars and practitioners in diverse fields, it provides information, resources, and practical suggestions that counselors can use to help empower individual women and girls to live as their authentic selves, and to engage as effective collaborators in addressing societal inequities. With a strong focus on empowerment and adherence to a social justice framework, the book highlights the value of mental health practitioners employing strengths-based approaches and advocating for systemic change. Based on a foundation of understanding females' diverse holistic development, the text explores the major theoretical approaches relevant to counseling and psychotherapy with women and girls. It then discusses the key issues faced by females at different developmental stages and describes appropriate counseling strategies for each, focusing on prevention as well as intervention. Specific concerns and strategies for women in different contexts, such as education, physical health and body image concerns, and violence, are emphasized. Unique to the text is coverage of how men specifically can serve as allies and advocates in creating healthier and safer societies for women and girls. Replete with supporting features such as learning objectives, self-reflection prompts, personal narratives, discussion questions, abundant resources, and strategies for how professionals can serve as advocates and change agents, this book is an ideal core text for courses on counseling women or gender issues in counseling, social work, psychology, marriage and family therapy, and women's studies programs, as well as a useful resource for mental health practitioners. Key Features: Uniquely covers life span development and counseling issues, needs, and application for females across the life spanEmphasizes advocacy, prevention, and practical intervention strategiesExamines the contextual elements that affect the female experience, including the oppressive structures in which they liveAddresses global perspectives, diverse women, a social justice framework, and empowermentIncludes learning objectives, first-person accounts, "Calls to Action" and self-reflection and discussion questionsA sample course calendar and syllabus are available to instructors to aid in course development

eBook
With statutory CAMHS services often heavily oversubscribed, and school and college services mainly offering brief therapeutic interventions, parents are increasingly turning to private practitioners for therapy for their children when they need expert emotional or psychological support. Working privately with children and families can be a rewarding experience for counsellors and psychotherapists but it can also be fraught with concerns for both practitioners and families alike. These concerns can seem so daunting that therapists with clinical experience of therapy with children continue to limit themselves to working only in education or statutory settings. This book offers comprehensive guidance to both experienced and novice counsellors to assist them in the process of setting up or adapting their private practice to include children and young people. It coherently and systematically addresses the obstacles which stand in the way of practitioners offering this important service effectively and ethically.The book is divided into four parts and uses case material to bring to life the areas covered by each chapter. Each chapter concludes with a summary of key points covered.

eBook
This is the first book for mental health professionals working with survivors of mass trauma to focus on the psychosocial and cultural contexts in which these disasters occur. It underscores the importance of understanding these environments in order to provide maximally effective mental health interventions for trauma survivors and their communities. Global in scope, the text addresses the foundations of understanding and responding to the mental health needs of individuals and groups healing from traumas created by a wide range of natural and human-made critical events, including acts of terrorism, armed conflict, genocide, and mass violence by individual perpetrators. Designed for professional training in disaster mental health, and meeting CACREP standards, the text promotes the knowledge and skills needed to work with the psychosocial aspects of individual and group adaptation and adjustment to mass traumatic experience. Reflecting state-of-the-art knowledge, the book offers detailed guidelines in assessment and brief interventions related to survivors' posttraumatic stress symptoms and complex trauma associated with being at the epicenter of extraordinary stressful and traumatic events. In addition, this book also covers critical issues of self-care for the professional. Illustrated with first-person accounts of disaster survivors and case scenarios, this book emphasizes how counselors and other mental health professionals can foster resilience and wellness in individuals and communities affected by all types of disasters. KEY FEATURES: Considers disaster and mass trauma response from a culturally and globally relevant perspective--the first book of its kindAddresses CACREP's clinical standards and content areas related to disaster mental health responseCovers many types of disasters and categories of survivorsIncludes updated information on PTSD, complex trauma, and self-careAddresses cultivating resiliency in individual and group survivors along with social justice issuesOffers an Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slide packet for qualified adopters

eBook
""The authors" choice of key elements results in a book that provides knowledge essential for beginning counselors to learn and for experienced counselors to reviewO. Consequently, " The Elements of Counseling Children and Adolescents "should be useful for students in the helping professions, includingOpsychology, social work, and counseling."" oFrom the Foreword by Scott T. Meier, PhD, coauthor, "The Elements of Counseling" ""Offers precise, practical guidance based on a proven teaching format."" Tailored to the specific needs of the child and adolescent client, this concise, easy-to-read primer provides essential and practical guidelines for counselors and psychologists who are training to work with children in both clinical and school settings. It is modeled after the highly successful and time-tested "Elements ofO" format used in many teaching disciplines. The book distills the basic concepts that beginning professionals must keep in mind as they approach practice, offering guidance in a logical, numbered sequence from setting the stage for the counseling process through the essentials of building and maintaining an active counseling practice. In addition to facilitating learning with its precise, easily understood rules and principles, the book provides potent guidance for both common and challenging situations. Key concepts such as using developmentally appropriate language and activities are covered, along with critical issues such as collaborating with parents and other professionals, responding to crisis situations, and counselor self-awareness and self-care. Case examples of clientncounselor dialogues in each chapter illustrate foundational concepts, and an overview of how to use the text for transcript analysis in training programs is also included. Written by experienced counseling and therapy educators and professionals, this versatile text will be a welcome addition for courses in counseling children and adolescents as well as other courses across the curriculum in school counseling; school psychology; marriage, child, and family counseling; and clinical social work. KEY FEATURES: Distills the essential components of therapy and counseling with children and adolescents in a highly useful, time-tested "Elements ofO" formatAdaptable to a range of counseling-related courses across the curriculumProvides illustrative examples of counselornclient dialoguesIncludes instructor's manual"

eBook
Completely revised and updated to reflect the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and current ethics codes in psychology, social work, and marriage andfamily therapy. This unparalleled text guides helping professionals in the use of ethical decision-making processes as the foundation for ethicalapproaches to counseling and psychotherapy. The book focuses on ethical and legal challenges and standards across multiple professions emphasizingcounseling. It not only identifies relevant ethical issues in clinical mental health, rehabilitation, group, school, addictions, and career counseling, italso addresses couple and family therapy, clinical supervision, and forensics. The text illuminates the particular application of ethical standards withineach specialty. The book features five new chapters that clearly define how ethical standards are interpreted and applied: Privacy, Confidentiality, and PrivilegedCommunication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency. Under the umbrella of eachbroad topic, the particular nuances of ethical standards within each specialty are analyzed to facilitate comparison across all specialties and settings.The text also addresses current issues in office and administrative practices, technology, and forensic practice that are crucial to school, clinical, andprivate practice settings. Compelling case studies illustrate the connection between ethical decision-making models and ethical practice. Learningobjectives, a comprehensive review of scholarly literature, and a robust ancillary package for educators contribute to the fourth edition' s value for usein upper-level undergraduate and graduate classrooms. New to the Fourth Edition: Comprehensive reorganization and reconceptualization of content Reflects new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Includes five new chapters on Privacy, Confidentiality, and Privileged Communication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency Emphasizes specialty practice organized by professional standards Facilitates comparison of standards across disciplines Addresses new issues in office, administrative, technology, and forensic practice Key Features: Delivers an unequaled overview of ethical decision making in counseling and psychotherapy Defines how ethical standards are interpreted and applied in specialty practice Describes how to avoid, address, and solve serious ethical and legal dilemmas Includes learning objectives, case studies, and scholarly literature reviews Offers robust ancillary package with Instructor' s Manual, Test Bank, and PowerPoint Slides

eBook
How do therapists know they are making a difference with their clients? Progress monitoring and outcome assessment (PMOA) measures are powerful tools that can provide feedback about short-term progress during counseling and psychotherapy as well as information about the overall amount ofprogress. Incorporating Progress Monitoring and Outcome Assessment into Counseling and Psychotherapy by Scott T. Meier helps clinicians, students, and researchers learn how to employ and interpret PMOA measures. A new generation of change-sensitive measures has begun to appear that are specially designed tofunction as PMOA tests. These instruments indicate when a client is not making progress and the mental health professional should consider altering the psychosocial intervention. Research has demonstrated that PMOA measures have the potential to significantly reduce the surprisingly high failurerates found in psychotherapy. Meier describes case studies that incorporate PMOA data, literature relevant to PMOA measurement, and examples of rater training for PMOA measures. Chapters explain how to administer and interpret PMOA data, evaluate the psychometric properties of PMOA measures, understand statistics and graphicsemployed with PMOA data, and employ PMOA data in supervision. This book will be valuable to mental health providers who use PMOA measures as well as graduate students in clinical, counseling, and school psychology.

eBook
"This book contains much useful information, including professional practice, ethics, cultural considerations, assessment, and intervention. This will be a wonderful addition to the libraries of students and professionals alike... Score: 97 - 5 Stars " --Gary B. Kaniuk, PsyD, Cermak Health Services, Doody's Reviews Praise for the first edition "Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics... U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...." --Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009) This award-winning, bestselling reference for professional counselors and graduate students is extensively updated and expanded to encompass critical developments that are immediately relevant to the counseling professions, including the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, CACREP/CORE accreditation standards, the updated DSM-5, the Affordable Care Act, and many other important changes. It reflects the ongoing consolidation of a strong identity for professional counselors and the need to address mental health and other counseling concerns amid marked sociocultural changes. The only resource of its kind, it is an extremely useful guide for counseling students working toward licensure and certification as well as experienced counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice. It is based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined by CACREP and CORE accreditation standards and disseminates, in 93 chapters, both contemporary insight and practical strategies for working with the complexity of real-life issues related to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of diverse clients. New chapters address military and veteran health issues; evidence-based practice for training; counseling transgender individuals, partners, and families; counseling caregivers; social justice; and much more. In addition to being a quick-access resource for all counseling professionals, the second edition serves as a concise, accessible reference for graduate students preparing for certification and licensure exams. It features an expanded, comprehensive self-exam of 340 multiple-choice items based on the CACREP/CORE foundational content and knowledge areas for counselor education and training. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded discussion of ethical issues, including the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Affordable Care Act and its impact on delivery of mental health services Coverage of DSM-5 Promotes an interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines Includes an expanded self-exam with 340 study questions for National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) prep New chapters on military and veteran mental health issues New chapters on evidence-based practices for counseling, social justice, and behavioral health and health disparities in the United States New chapters on counseling caregivers, children with psychiatric conditions, and survivors of natural disasters New chapter on counseling for wellness New information on complementary, alternative, and integrative approaches New information on counseling LGBTQ couples, partners, and families Key Features: Covers all key foundational content for CACREP/CORE-accredited programs within one volume

eBook
The professional helper should be a teacher, a mentor, a motivator and a guide when assisting helpees find solutions to their life situations. Most clients have within themselves the answers to most if not all of their life situations; quite often, what they need is someone to assist them in sifting through and evaluating the various possible responses for a situation. This revised and expanded new edition continues the theme of the first edition in providing a basic understanding of the various kinds of helping relationships and characteristics that an effective helper must possess. An overview of the major issues the United States has encountered, and to some degree successfully overcome with the involvement of the helping professional, is presented. Part I covers personal skills that a helper should possess such as understanding self, understanding human behavior, cultural differences, disabilities, religion, and resources. Part II discusses the impacts of the changing roles of helping professionals, roles in cultural evolution, and future challenges for helpers. Part III provides an analysis of theoretical views for helping relationships. A discussion of the theories are provided to enable helpers develop their own professional approaches to helping clients. Other topics include understanding individual and family counseling, preparing the helper to provide the best professional and ethical services possible, a sound understanding of human behavior, how to conduct the helping relationship from the standpoint of process, establishment of goals, and the implementation of these goals. The Professional Helper will be a beneficial text to all counseling students, as well as students in social work, human resources, psychology, sociology, and human relations.

eBook
A unique and useful overview of important approaches to counseling and psychotherapy by an expert author and educator. Focusing on contemporary approaches and practical applications, it is a must-have for students and clinicians alike. This innovative new text presents a comprehensive review of major theories of counseling and psychotherapy using four paradigms: organic-medical, psychological, systemic/relational, and social constructivist. Designed to be accessible and relevant to practice, the book reinforces learning with the inclusion of objectives, chapter summaries, applications of each theory in practice, and brief biographies of major theorists. The text moves beyond traditional approaches with expansive coverage of relationship-centered and postmodern theories such as Dialectic Behavior Therapy, Emotion Focused Therapy, Solution-Focused Brief Therapy, Narrative Therapy, and others. Each theory is explored in depth in a student-entor dialogue that examines and debates the challenges that arise with each theory. The book also addresses the counseling role in psychiatric case management, reflecting the growing reality of cross-professional collaboration. Practical yet rigorous, the text is a state-of-the-art introduction to contemporary approaches in counseling and psychotherapy for students in counseling, social work, professional psychology, marriage and family therapy, and related professions. Key Features: Delivers comprehensive coverage of relationship-centered counseling theoriesAddresses contemporary approaches in depth, including postmodern theories and psychiatric case managementPresents material in a unified voice by an expert teacher and researcher in the fieldConsistently presents goals, process, counselor role, assessment, management, ideal outcomes, and criticisms pertinent to each approachProvides learning objectives, key terms, concluding summaries, and brief biographies of major theoristsIncludes unique mentor-student dialogues at the end of each chapter that explore, conversationally, the significance of each theory and its application to practice

eBook
With contributions from eighteen professional women counselors from twelve different countries, this book is the first to provide an overview of new-born philosophical practices from an entirely female perspective. It gives voice to women's thoughts and brings to the reader a living portrait of philosophy as a service to people and a training for those in search of a fully lived existence. As the authors draw on first-hand experience, their philosophical analyses intertwine with changes in attitudes and real-life stories, unearthing that forgotten soul of philosophical thought which our ancestors referred to as the Anima. The book provides a lively, sprightly and vivacious picture of how philosophy is used in practice, a long way from the rigidness and stereotypical severity of its traditional image. It will not fail to inspire readers to live their thoughts and think their lives.