Current Newspaper Coverage Online
-
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, L.A. Times, Chicago Tribune, Barron's, and over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format, covering the 1980s up to the current day.
As print and website newspaper editions may vary slightly, you may want either:- The New York Times print edition (1980 - today) or its website edition(1996 - today)
- The Wall Street Journal print edition (1984 - today) or its website edition (2010 - today)
- The Washington Post print edition (1996 - today) or its website edition (2016 - today)
- The Los Angeles Times print edition (1996 - today) or its website edition (2017 - today)
-
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Formerly InfoTrac Newsstand. Articles from over 1,000 newspapers in the United States and worldwide. Includes Austin American-Statesman (1996+), and The Houston Chronicle (1996+). National newspapers include The New York Times (1985+), and The Christian Science Monitor (1997+). International papers include the London Times (1985+) and the Times of India (2005+).
Digitized Historical Newspapers
-
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFocuses on digitized, searchable versions of American newspapers. Includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876, with coverage of 733 newspapers from 22 states and Washington D.C.
-
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of CongressSearch for content in viewable digitized pages from hundreds of newspapers published between 1860 to 1922 from the states of Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington.
-
NewspaperArchive.com This link opens in a new windowTens of millions of newspaper images from 1607 to the present, with over 15,000 different newspapers worldwide and over 650 for Texas alone. It notably includes strong 20th-century coverage of Amarillo and Canyon newspapers.
-
Newsweek Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the full run of the US edition of Newsweek, from its launch in 1933* to 2012 (when the print edition originally ceased). With an international circulation that peaked at more than 3 million, it was one of the largest and most influential weekly magazines, encompassing breaking news, analysis, reviews, and commentary. Its investigative reporting included extensive coverage of issues relating to racism and civil rights from the 1960s forward.
* Due to the rarity of older print volumes, there may be small gaps (issues / pages) -
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies. This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable full text of the following newspapers:
- The New York Times—1851-2019
- Wall Street Journal—1889-2011
- Washington Post—1877-2007
- Los Angeles Times—1881-1999
- The Chicago Tribune—1849-1998
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Austin American Statesman (1871 - 1980) This link opens in a new window
Images of all material published in this important Texas newspaper. Articles, advertising, letters, funeral notices and photos are all included. Fully searchable and browsable.
-
The Texas Digital Newspaper Program from the Portal to Texas HistoryIncludes nearly 10 million pages from over 1800 different digitized Texas newspapers covering almost 200 years.
-
The Prairie NewsRecent issues of The Prairie. The Voice of WTAMU since 1919. For older editions please see our WT Digital Repository.
-
The Prairie: West Texas Student Newspaper"The Prairie" newspaper began in 1919 as part of the journalism department. It contains campus news, class schedules, campus events, comic strips, business advertisements, and local news pertaining to the region surrounding Canyon, Texas.
Microfilm
With the exception of current issues, when available, the following newspapers are on microfilm. Microfilm reader/printers are available in Periodicals. Copies may be made using your Buffalo Gold card.
Indexes for both The New York Times and The Times (London) are located in the Microforms room of the Periodicals department. Ask at the Periodicals Desk for their location.
Check the catalog for detailed availability and dates of newspapers located in Periodicals or browse the newspaper microfilm cabinets.
- Amarillo Globe-News and its predecessor (Jan. 1960-present, with some gaps)
- Austin American and Austin American-Statesman (1914-1976, online 11/03/1973 until 12/31/1980)
- Canyon News and its predecessors (1901-present, with some gaps)
- Christian Science Monitor and Christian Science Monitor Weekly (Nov. 1908-present); Index: 1950-present
- Dallas Morning News (Oct. 1885-1996)
- Japan Times (1941,1942-44; 1968-1977). [1998 to present online.]
- Nashville Tennessean (1912-1925)
- New York Times (Sep. 18, 1851-present); Index: Sep. 1851-present
- Pittsburgh Courier (1923-1965) and New Pittsburgh Courier (1966-1992)
- St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1945-1977)
- Times -- London (Jan. 1788-present) ; formerly Daily Universal Register (1785-1787); Index: 1790-present
- Tulia Herald (1918-1979, with some gaps)
- Wall Street Journal (Jul. 1889-present); Index: 1955-present
- Washington Post (1954-1978)
We also have many newspapers with fewer than ten years of coverage, often in the 19th or early 20th century.
These include the Albany Echo, Albany Star, Angleton Times, Aspen Times, Dubuque Daily Times-Journal, Guymon Herald, Indianapolis Journal, Los Angeles Times, Macon Daily Telegraph, Memphis Daily Appeal, and Mobile Daily Register.