InfoGuides: EDSP 6358: Seminar in Students with Multiple Impairments: Articles

Discover

Scholarly Articles

What is this searching?

Databases & Scholarly Articles

Library Databases may contain:

scholarly articles
newspapers or magazines
images or historical documents
full-text books

Databases

Below are some specific databases that will be helpful for this class.

America's News from Newsbank
Over 2200 full-text newspapers from across the United States, from as far back as 1978. Included among them are the Amarillo Globe-News from 2002 to the present and over 100 other Texas news sources, sometimes from as far back as 1984. Wildcard/Truncation: * for any number of characters, ? for exactly 1 character. Use quotes for phrase searching.
CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
An expanded version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. Provides citations and abstracts for over 5,400 nursing journals, as well as books, conferences, software, and audiovisual material. Provides the full text for over 1,300 of those journals.

Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1982 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: 'Help' link on each screen. 'Styles of Citation' available under 'Help'., and Special Features: Browse list of publication titles.
Communication Source
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive research database in the field of communications, this resource results from a merger of EBSCO’s Communication and Mass Media Complete with SAGE's Communications Abstracts. It indexes and abstracts over 1000 core journals, nearly 400 more than in CMMC, and its active full text for more than 600 journals includes 150 full-text titles not available in CMMC.

It also has a subject-specific, browsable thesaurus featuring 4,528 preferred and 8,528 non-preferred terms and coverage dating back to 1915.

Coverage includes advertising, rhetoric, communication disorders and much more.

Coverage: Varies, mostly mid-1990s forward, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text.
EBSCO Search
- This link opens in a new window
A locally customized combined search of over 60 different EBSCO databases, covering a wide array of topics and sources.

Includes: Academic Search Complete, Agricola, AHFS Consumer Medication Information, America: History and Life with Full Text, American Doctoral Dissertations, Bibliography of Native North Americans, Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson), Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Business Source Ultimate, CINAHL Complete, Civil War Primary Source Documents, Communication Source, Computer Source, Education Source, Educational Administration Abstracts, Energy & Power Source, ERIC, Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson), Family Studies Abstracts, Fuente Académica Premier, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA), International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text, Legal Collection, Legal Information Reference Center, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Premier, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, Middle Search Plus, Military & Government Collection, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, Newspaper Source, Play Index (H.W. Wilson), Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, Public Administration Abstracts, Race Relations Abstracts, Regional Business News, Religion and Philosophy Collection, Science & Technology Collection, Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson), Social Work Abstracts, SPORTDiscus with Full Text, Teacher Reference Center, Texas Reference Center, The Serials Directory, TOPICsearch, Vocational and Career Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Business Collection, eBook Clinical Collection, eBook Collection, eBook Education Collection, eBook EngineeringCore, eBook History Collection, eBook Religion Collection
Education Source
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research database from EBSCO covering early childhood to higher education and diverse educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Indexing for more than 3500 journals and full text for over 2000 journals, 500 books, and 1700 conference papers. Coverage from 1800 to present.
Mometrix eLibrary
Offers study guides for such tests as the GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TExES ACT, SAT, CLEP, GED, STAAR, and many dozens more in 16 categories such as Nursing, Graduate & Professional, Career, Personal Fitness, Business, and more.

Also includes an Employment Resources section covering creating a resume, writing a cover letter, applying for jobs online, interviewing, negotiating an offer, and more.
Professional Development Collection
- This link opens in a new window
For professional educators and focused on children's health and development, and current topics in education. Full-text for over 500 journals, with indexing/abstracting for almost 800 journals. Subset of Academic Search Complete.

Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Varies. As early as 1993 - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results. Some full-text publications may have the most current 3-12 months in abstract only, due to publisher restrictions.
Sage Journals Online
Full-text from 860+ scholarly journals, with excellent coverage for criminology, psychology, sociology, health sciences and the humanities. Numerous journals also cover education, general and international business, and management.

Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1999-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Search results may include material earlier than our subscription. DO NOT pay for articles: use our Interlibrary Loan
UpToDate
Specific, detailed answers to clinical questions in nursing, sports and exercise sciences, communication disorders, and psychology. Original content that is written, reviewed and continually updated by a faculty of more than 5,100 leading physicians. Content includes over 9,500 topics in 21 specialties, a drug database and drug interactions program, 135 Medical calculators, What’s New (summary of important new findings by specialty), and patient education materials.