Is It Okay to Use Google?
Since you will have to verify that your sources are scholarly and reputable, it is not a good idea to use Google to find journal articles.
You will be able to spend less time overall on your research if you use databases available from the Cornette Library.
Good Research Takes Time
For a major research project, allow at least one week to find articles that are available online.
You may need about one additional week to find the articles that are in print or that need to be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.
Also, after reading the articles you find first, you may discover that you need to find additional articles that are tricky to find. Allow one week minimum.
Learn more about getting started with the Research Process.
Is Everything Online?
No. Sometimes an article may only be available in print or on microfilm in the library.
Generally, you will find copies of journals on the second floor of the library--in the Periodicals area. (Areas 9 and 10 of the linked map.)
Journalism & Media: News Media Ethics and Practices
For ideas on topics, consider browsing News Media Ethics and Practics from the highly reputable Pew Research Center.
Find Scholarly Articles - Discover
Type a phrase in "quotations marks".
Be sure to check the box for Scholarly Articles to search:
- only for scholarly articles, not books
- most of the library databases
- some open access journals
This search automatically limits your search to peer-reviewed journals.
Even peer-reviewed journals have content that is not scholarly, such as:
- editorials
- letters to the editor
- book reviews
Read more search tips about Discover on the list of PDF tutorials
Full Text Articles
Some articles may have a link to PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text. Just click on the link to get the entire article.
Some articles may have a button for Full Text@WT. Click on the button for a variety of options.
After clicking on the Full Text@WT button, often there is a link to the full text of the article in a library database.
Also, after clicking on the Full Text@WT button, sometimes there is an option to find the journal in the Cornette Library In-House Collection. This option will take you to information about a journal that is physically on the shelves of this library. You will need to verify that the year of publication is actually available in print, microfilm, etc.
Some articles may have a link to Request through interlibrary loan. By making the request, you may be able to get the article from another library. The article will be free, but allow up to two weeks to receive the article.
What Next?
After a Discover search, you will have many options to improve the list of full-text articles in the search results, such as:
- click on Advanced Search to type in addtional/different search words or for various options
- use the facets in the right-hand column to find fewer, better articles
- change the date range of publications to see only recent articles
- filter results by subject terms
- filter results by database ("Collection")
- remember: more search words = fewer articles