Databases & Scholarly Articles
Library Databases may contain:
- scholarly articles
- newspapers or magazines
- images or historical documents
- full-text books
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.8 million citations about language, literature, linguistics and folklore (culture). Source types include journals, books, dissertations, bibliographies and conference proceedings. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window** Expanded access continues as we work to implement a new contract for JSTOR's new all-access model, which will provide access to all archival journals and primary source content. **
Back volumes for 2,890 journals from the very first issue but usually excluding the most current 2-5 years, though almost 100 with coverage through the most recent issue. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text of more than 175 journals, focusing primarily on humanities and language. Some coverage for the performing arts, social sciences, and education. Almost all publications are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 25 journals continue the JSTOR coverage of the publication.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowThe Artstor website was retired on August 1, 2024. Artstor's content, key resources, and functionality are now on JSTOR.
Over 2.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with a suite of tools for teaching and research. Collections comprise contributions from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and artists' estates. Valuable for art history, African-American history, anthropology, decorative arts, fashion and costume, languages and literature, medieval studies, music history, theatre and dance, and much more.
Users can gain additional functionality by registering for an account, including downloading images and creating image groups. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle scholar is a specialized Google service that searches the web for journal articles, books, and other material that MAY be scholarly. Use the special link above for authenticated access to full text articles when off campus.
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international list of journals, magazines, newspapers, and online full-text electronic references. For each title indicates subject area, publisher, publication schedule, where indexed/abstracted, if peer reviewed and more. Search by title, ISSN, publisher, subject, keyword, dates, and more.
Developing Keywords
Make a research question from your topic.
- For example: "What is currently being done to help conserve the endangered Giant Panda population?"
- Keywords: conserve and Giant Panda
Think of related words.
- Conserve: conservation, preservation, protection
- Giant Panda: panda, Ailuropoda melanoleuca (scientific name).
Get searching!
When searching databases...
To find journal articles about Spanish Culture & Civilization, try the following:
Search terms:
- Spain
- Catalan nationalism
- Catalan human* (will find human/humanist/humanism)
- Basque (or Basques) nationalism
- Spain AND Identity politics
- Spain AND Labor disputes
- Siglo de oro
- "Spanish Golden Age"
Subject terms:
- Spain--History
- Spain--Politics & Government
Geographic terms:
- Spain : region
- VALENCIA (Spain : Region)
Interlibrary Loan
Found or need information (e.g. articles, books, etc.) that we don't have access to? You can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).
- Request a book or article.
- Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.
WTAMU students, faculty, staff, and Friends of Cornette Library (Supporting level and above) can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow research materials from the collections of other libraries.
ILL Office hours are Monday-Friday 8AM to 5PM. Contact the Interlibrary Loan department at (806) 651-2406.
Delivery could take as little as a couple of days or as much as three weeks. See here for more information about Interlibrary Loan. Click here for our ILL FAQs. For our Interlibrary Loan policies click our Library policies section then select the Interlibrary Loan.
Get Help from the Library
Research & Access Help
- Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
- Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
- Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Typical response time is within 1 business day.
- Stop by the first floor Research or Access desks anytime the library is open
- Renew items using the My Account feature of the online catalog
- Follow us on Facebook and/or X/Twitter.