Search These Databases First
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes practical and research literature on sport related topics. Covered areas include biomechanics; coaching and administration; exercise physiology; sport law, history and medicine; physical therapy and more. Includes full text for more than 530 of the indexed journals. - UpToDate This link opens in a new windowSpecific, detailed answers to clinical questions in nursing, sports and exercise sciences, communication disorders, and psychology. Original content that is written, reviewed and continually updated by a faculty of more than 5,100 leading physicians. Content includes over 9,500 topics in 21 specialties, a drug database and drug interactions program, 135 Medical calculators, What’s New (summary of important new findings by specialty), and patient education materials.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowFull-text, searchable access to more than 175 specific encyclopedias in many subjects, including business, social sciences, history, biography, religion, popular culture, and much more.
- Human Body MapsThis site offers an interactive way to explore human anatomy, with multiple layers of detail ranging from surface, to muscles, organs, circulation/lymphatic systems and skeletal system.
- Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine This link opens in a new windowApproximately 100 academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Other Databases with Important Content
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowIndexing of more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and full text of more than 8,000, with coverage in such subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowFormerly Health Reference Center: Academic.
Integrated collection of medical and professional periodicals, general interest health and fitness magazines, medical references and pamphlets. Designed for nursing and allied health students. More than 14,000 full-text publications, over 5,000 of which are peer-reviewed journals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window** Expanded access continues as we work to implement a new contract for JSTOR's new all-access model, which will provide access to all archival journals and primary source content. **
Back volumes for 2,890 journals from the very first issue but usually excluding the most current 2-5 years, though almost 100 with coverage through the most recent issue. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics. - Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text from 860+ scholarly journals, with excellent coverage for criminology, psychology, sociology, health sciences and the humanities. Numerous journals also cover education, general and international business, and management.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowBroad science coverage, emphasizing life sciences, health sciences, engineering, earth sciences, agriculture, and pharmacology. Full text from over 3800 journals and chapters from over 5300 books. Also includes business, management and accounting; economics, econometrics and finance, and social science.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowPrimarily scientific journals, with particular emphasis on mathematics, physics and engineering. Publisher is European, so some journals are not in English. Contains about 1,200 peer-reviewed journals.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
What is the research process?
- Identify and Develop Your Topic
- Find Background Information (revise your topic if necessary)
- Locate More Information
- Evaluate Your Sources
- Writing and Citing