InfoGuides: Psychology: Get Started

Scholarly Articles

What is this searching?

Core Resources

APA PsycInfo
Starting source for scholarly journal articles on all issues related to psychology. Also includes information about books and dissertations.

Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1887-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results. Some full-text publications may have the most current 3-12 months in abstract only, due to publisher restrictions.
APA PsycArticles
Full-text of 77 journals published by the American Psychological Association APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Almost all titles are from volume 1, issue 1 through the most recent issue. Initial coverage begins in 1894 for Psychological Review.

Format: Full-text, Coverage: Volume 1, Issue 1 to present for each title, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Boolean command searching. Browsable index of search terms for author/editor, journal name, language, document type, and subject term.
Psychotherapy.net
100 high-quality streaming training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, and addiction, the majority of which show leading practitioners conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post discussions.

The videos have diverse formats geared for a variety of teaching needs, including single-session demonstrations, multiple-session demonstrations, clinical case consultations, interview and documentary style films. Most use actual clients, although some are reenactments . Many videos include voiceover commentaries throughout sessions. Also included are downloadable Instructor's manuals with suggestions for role-plays, reaction papers, discussion questions and additional resources.

The platform includes captions, searchable transcripts, and clip-making and clip-sharing ability.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments (and over 7,000 reaching back to 1938) within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching.

Developing Keywords

Make a research question from your topic.

For example: "What is currently being done to help conserve the endangered Giant Panda population?"
- Keywords: conserve and Giant Panda

Think of related words.

Conserve: conservation, preservation, protection
Giant Panda: panda, Ailuropoda melanoleuca (scientific name).

Get searching!

Related Guides

Get Help from the Library

Research & Access Help

Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Typical response time is within 1 business day.
Stop by the first floor Research or Access desks anytime the library is open
Renew items using the My Account feature of the online catalog
Follow us on Facebook and/or X/Twitter.

Psychology

Search Discover Databases,Books, or Reserves

Core Resources

Developing Keywords

Make a research question from your topic.

Think of related words.

Related Guides

Get Help from the Library

Research & Access Help