"Our department is very much focused on helping our students to succeed. In particular, we provide students with unique opportunities, engaging research experiences and advanced instructional support" Dr. Nick Flynn, Ph.D., Department Head
Full-text online access to 50 of the journals published by the Institute of Physics. Complete coverage of each title from first to most current issue. Contains all of the Journal of Physics series.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies by journal, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Use double quotes to search for exact phrase. Otherwise a Boolean AND is assumed. Can search abstract, title, author, affiliation, or keyword; or phrase within entire article. Can specify individual journal, subject category (e.g. applied physics or computer science) or entire collection. Search results can also be clustered by common terms occurring within the retrieved
Includes all the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) journals, plus conference proceedings and IEEE standards. Coverage areas are
Communication, Networking & Broadcasting
Components, Circuits, Devices & Systems
Computing & Processing (Hardware/Software)
Engineered Materials, Dielectrics & Plasmas
Fields, Waves & Electromagnetics
General Topics for Engineers (Math, Science & Engineering)
Photonics & Electro-Optics
Power, Energy, & Industry Applications
Robotics & Control Systems
Signal Processing & Analysis
Format: Full-text, Coverage: varies by title, Vol. 1 to present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Capitalize OR or AND when using Boolean search and complex command line searches with field names., and Special Features: Subscription includes IET journals. Create an individual account to save searches, results, RSS feeds, etc. More than 5000 conference proceedings included.
Simultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1970-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and * for (any), ? for (1), $ for (0 or 1), Search Tips: Default search is for terms in the order they are entered, use quotation marks for a phrase. Search options include author, title, keyword, and subject. Author first name is initials only. Supports logical connectors AND, OR, NOT, and SAME. Can limit to one or two of the included indexes.
Broad science coverage, emphasizing life sciences, health sciences, engineering, earth sciences, agriculture, and pharmacology. Full text from over 3800 journals and chapters from over 5300 books. Also includes business, management and accounting; economics, econometrics and finance, and social science.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies by title, most 1990-present, Truncation and Wildcard: ! and *, Search Tips: Default search assumes entered term is a phrase. Can search for terms in abstract/title/keywords, full-text , author, journal title, etc. Use singular for terms that form regular plurals. For irregular plurals, combine both terms with OR. Greek letters are spelled out in English. Super and subscripts appear inline. Browsable help lists. Journal list.
Multi-disciplinary academic resource. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language, arts, literature, and medicine. Includes scholarly full-text articles from over 7,300 sources, with an additional 1,000 full-text sources. Indexes more than 10,000 periodicals
Coverage: Varies by title. Mostly mid90s - present., Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, page length, publication name and type.
Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, physics and materials science. 800 full-text journals. Subset of Academic Search Complete.
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Varies by title, mostly mid90s - present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results. Some full-text publications may have the most current 3-12 months in abstract only, due to publisher restrictions.
Citations to over 1700 journals, conference proceedings, and books in mathematics.
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1940-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and *, Search Tips: Boolean operators. Proximity searching., and Special Features: Continues print publication Mathematical Reviews. Basic, advanced, subject searching. Limits by document type, date, and published in Mathematical Reviews or Current Mathematical Publications.
Primarily scientific journals, with particular emphasis on mathematics, physics and engineering. Publisher is European, so some journals are not in English. Contains about 1,200 peer-reviewed journals.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies, mid 1990s - present., Truncation and Wildcard: No and No, Search Tips: Default choice in advanced search is citation, so switch to articles by text tab to keyword search. Dropdown menu allows searching by All Words, AExact Phrase or Boolean Search. Search is by Author, Title, Abstract (including title), or Full-text (including title and abstract). Select Recency or Relevancy to sort results. To search by publication dates, or specific publication names, click the button labeled Show Advanced Options. Also browseable by publication, by publisher, or by online library (broad subjects such as chemical sciences, computer science, economics, etc.)