Databases & Scholarly Articles
Library Databases may contain:
- scholarly articles
- newspapers or magazines
- images or historical documents
- full-text books
Start Here
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive research database in the field of communications, this resource results from a merger of EBSCO’s Communication and Mass Media Complete with SAGE's Communications Abstracts. It indexes and abstracts over 1000 core journals, nearly 400 more than in CMMC, and its active full text for more than 600 journals includes 150 full-text titles not available in CMMC.
It also has a subject-specific, browsable thesaurus featuring 4,528 preferred and 8,528 non-preferred terms and coverage dating back to 1915.
Coverage includes advertising, rhetoric, communication disorders and much more.
Other Databases with Important Content
- Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text from 860+ scholarly journals, with excellent coverage for criminology, psychology, sociology, health sciences and the humanities. Numerous journals also cover education, general and international business, and management.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with an international perspective. Numerous specialized journals especially in education, social and behavioral sciences, communication, and business, but also otherwise across the arts and humanities, physical and life sciences, health sciences, and engineering, More than 1400 journals are available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary academic resource. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language, arts, literature, and medicine. Includes scholarly full-text articles from over 7,300 sources, with an additional 1,000 full-text sources. Indexes more than 10,000 periodicals
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
We are downgrading our Project MUSE subscription effective December 31, 2022, moving from the Premium Collection to the Basic College Collection. Please see the linked section of our Cancellations guide for more details.
Full-text of more than 680 journals, focusing primarily on humanities and language. Some coverage for the performing arts, social sciences, and education. Almost all publications are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 25 journals continue the JSTOR coverage of the publication. - Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis Academic)Our subscription to Nexis Uni ended on June 30, 2022.
Please see our linked guide for more details, including alternate resources.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text of 77 journals published by the American Psychological Association APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Almost all titles are from volume 1, issue 1 through the most recent issue. Initial coverage begins in 1894 for Psychological Review.
Evaluate Resources
Click image for more information
Scholarly Articles
Scholarly articles:
- are written, reviewed, and edited by experts,
- refer to work by other scholars
Interlibrary Loan
If you need a book or article that we don't have, you can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).
- Request a book or article.
- Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.
Ask A Librarian
Having trouble? Ask!
- Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
- Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
- Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Most responses within 1 business day.
- Stop by the first floor Research & Access Desk anytime the library is open