InfoGuides: Company/Financial Info: Digging Deeper

Databases

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Our most comprehensive coverage of business publications for management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more, with not only academic journals, magazines, trade journals, book chapters, conference papers but also country-specific reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, legal summaries, and CFRA industry surveys.

Unlike Business Source Complete, this version allows unrestricted access to Harvard Business Review (including removing restrictions to the top 500 articles) for course use, enabling linking, printing and downloading that was often unavailable in Business Source Complete. It also increases the number of active, non-OA full-text peer-reviewed journals from 970 to 1,519 and the number without any embargo from 473 to 966.
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Varies by title. Mostly mid90s - present., Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, page length, publication name and type.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of sample business plans, small business journals, encyclopedias, and other resources covering entrepreneurship and small business topics, such as accounting, HR, management, marketing, taxes, and more.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Global company, country and business topic overviews, international case studies, Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, Industry Research Essays, and full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and statistics from the Organization for Economic Development (OECD). Special emphasis on international economics, development and health; country economics, and agriculture. More than 45 different statistical databases, with internationational coverage.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1998 forward, Truncation and Wildcard: No and No, Search Tips: Can search by Title, Keyword, Author, Journal Title, and Year of publication. Quick find drop-down menus also give access to thematic arrangement of collection.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1970-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and * for (any), ? for (1), $ for (0 or 1), Search Tips: Default search is for terms in the order they are entered, use quotation marks for a phrase. Search options include author, title, keyword, and subject. Author first name is initials only. Supports logical connectors AND, OR, NOT, and SAME. Can limit to one or two of the included indexes.

Web Sites

MSCI ESG Ratings & Climate Search Tool
This public ESG Ratings & Climate corporate search tool allows you to search over 2,900 companies that are constituents of the MSCI All Country World Index (ACWI). You can search by company name or ticker to view the ESG and climate risks and opportunities the company might face, including: Implied Temperature Rise, Decarbonization Targets, ESG Ratings, ESG Controversies, Business Involvement Screens and SDG Net Alignment.

If the company you search for does not appear but is in the MSCI ESG Research coverage universe, this means that it is not in the MSCI ACWI Index at this time.

*This site will ask you to register for a free account after a few searches.
North American Industry Classification System
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Refinitiv ESG Company Scores
These ESG scores are designed to transparently and objectively measure a company's relative ESG performance, commitment and effectiveness across 10 main themes, based on publicly available and auditable data.
Sustainalytics
Provides high-quality, analytical environmental, social and governance (ESG) research, ratings and data to institutional investors and companies. This site uses Morningstar data.

Still no luck?

If you need a book or article that we don't have, you can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).

Request a book or article.
Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.

Ask A Librarian

Having trouble? Ask!

Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Most responses within 1 business day.
Stop by the first floor Research & Access Desk anytime the library is open