HIST 4316 (Dr. Bogener): Advanced Texas History

The other boxes on this page offer a few suggestions and possibilities for primary source research but are only the beginning.

To discover primary sources generally, try these approaches:

• Scour the bibliographies and notes of relevant secondary sources such as articles, books, and dissertations on your topic. They are necessarily drawing on relevant primary sources. We may or may not have access then to those primary sources.
• Search in our catalog or in WorldCat and include these subject terms: Personal narratives, Facsimiles, Diaries, Correspondence, Sources. Alternately, try including document? [in our catalog] or document* [in WorldCat] as a key word for mentions of "documents" or "documentary" in the title or description.

Texas as a Province and Republic 1795-1845

An excellent collection of valuable primary source material relating to the early growth of Texas, including its time as Spanish province, its colonization by Americans, its revolution, and its annexation by the United States.

A detailed bibliography is on the Reference shelves of the Microforms room.

Microfilm

National Archives : Records of the Bureau of Reclamation, Project Histories and Reports of Reclamation Bureau Projects, 1905-1925

Relating to the construction of irrigation works for the reclamation of arid lands in Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming.

Microfilm. 220 rolls.

National Archives : Records of the Work Projects Administration

1. Central Correspondence 1935-1944, State Series Texas

2. Selected Documents Relating to Road Construction in Texas

Microfilm. Two rolls altogether.

Henry A. Wallace: Oral History, Diary, & Papers

Wallace was a farmer, journalist, businessman, and politician, who, among other achievements, served as Secretary of Agriculture, Vice President and Secretary of Commerce under FDR and ran for President in 1948 as the nominee of the Progressive Party. His service as Secretary of Agriculture covered most of the years of the Dust Bowl. These papers consist chiefly of correspondence, though there are also appointment books, schedules, a diary, an oral history, and other miscellaneous materials.

A print guide can be found on the Reference shelves of the Microforms room.

Microfilm

Agricultural Journals

Newsletters, magazines, and pamphlets from the 1930s through 1960s.

Microfilm

Cornette Library is a depository library for Texas government documents as well as U.S. goverment documents. Many valuable primary sources you discover will be in those sections. All Texas documents are in the catalog. Many U.S. documents are, while many others are not.

To discover older goverment document sources not in the catalog, visit the Documents desk on the 2nd floor.

For help with finding the physical copy of any Texas document you discover in the catalog, visit the Documents desk on the 2nd floor.

The Portal to Texas History

Includes digitized letters, books, and archival materials from Texas history from dozens of library and museum collections.

Bexar Archives Online at UT's Dolph Briscoe Center for American History

Documents the "military, civil, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas from 1717 to 1792" with "over 5,000 original documents (23,000 pages) that have been digitized from microfilm. Researchers may browse, by year, the originals and translations, or compare an original and its translation side-by-side. Full-text searching of the translations is also supported.

For more on primary sources from Cornette Library, please see our detailed guide.