"One of our core values is our mutual trust and respect for students and faculty. Another core value is in creating a nurturing atmosphere for students. Perhaps the overarching value is found in the team spirit that permeates our interactions" Dr. Mallard
Grove Music Online is built from a print source published since 1878 and its sibling publications, plus hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition, and is presented on the Oxford Music Online platform. Grove Music Online offers over 57,000 articles written by over 9,000 music scholars.
Terms searched in Grove Music Online can then also be easily searched in the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music, with links off to the articles in those sources on the Oxford Reference platform.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001)
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002)
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992)
The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994)
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013; in process)
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014; in process)
RILM offers "nearly a million bibliographic records" covering musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, and more, with "in-depth vocabulary-controlled indexing and detailed abstract texts." This enhanced version includes more than 200 journals, 90 of which are not available online anywhere else.
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 600 periodicals and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Truncation and Wildcard: * and ?, Search Tips: Use quotation marks to phrase search. Allows Boolean AND, OR and NOT searching. May limit to full-text, scholarly journals, date, length, publication name and type. HELP link on each screen, which includes Citation information. Can print, save, or email results.