Skip to Main Content

Finding Statistics and Data

How and where to find statistics and datasets

International Statistics and Data

  • Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
    • The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
       
  • Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
    • The DHS Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
       
  • European Commission Access2Markets

    • This web portal combines the Market Access Database, the European Union Trade Helpdesk, and information on duties, taxes, product rules and requirements for all European Union countries and over 120 other markets around the world. It has information for companies exporting from the EU to international markets. Includes statistics and information on duties and tariffs, import procedures, trade barriers and other issues and regulations

  • Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

    • The Asia-Pacific SDG Gateway is a window to data and analysis at regional, subregional and country levels on SDG (sustainable development goals) statistics for Asia and the Pacific. It includes:  Regional SDG progress assessment, country SDG profiles, country comparison charts, data availability, and SDG investment trends and needs.
       

  • European Union's Eurostat
    • Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It produces European statistics in partnership with national statistical institutes and other national authorities in EU member states. Eurostat also coordinates statistical activities at the European Union level.
       
  • FAOSTAT (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
    • FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
       
  • ILOSTAT (International Labour Statistics)
    • ILOSTAT contains a wide range of data on the labor market, including data on employment by economic sector, wages per hour, weekly working hours, unemployment, and strikes.
       
  • IPUMS International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world.
     
  • Migration Policy Institute Migration Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
     
  • NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes. A wide range of economic and demographic indicators are available across 300 industry verticals (agriculture, consumer goods, ICT, pharma, ...) and 305 countries. The database is composed of data from such sources as national statistics agencies, World Bank, World Health Organization, and OECD to name a few.
     
  • Population Reference Bureau - International data
  • Population Reference Bureau - United States data
    • The Population Reference Bureau is a private, nonprofit organization that specializes in collecting and supplying statistics necessary for research focused on the environment, and health and structure of populations.
       
  • UNESCO Institute of Statistics
    • The official statistical agency of UNESCO, the Institute of Statistics (UIS) produces a wide range of indicators in UNESCO's fields of action:  education and literacy; science, technology, and innovation; culture; and communication and information.
       
  • United Nations Statistics Division
    • The United Nations Statistics Division provides a global center for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environmental, demographic, and social statistics gathered from national and international sources.
  • V-Dem (Varieties of Democracy)
    • Provides a multidimensional and disaggregated dataset that reflects the complexity of the concept of democracy as a system of rule that goes beyond the presence of elections. The V-Dem project distinguishes between five high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian, and collects data to measure these principles. There are also several graphing tools to aid in data visualization.
       
  • World Bank DataBank
    • DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics.
       
  • World Health Organization Data
    • The World Health Organization (WHO) manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being.