A public, government, scientific research data catalog and repository available to help the agricultural research community share and discover research data funded by the United States Department of Agriculture and meet Federal open access requirements. Subject areas include: agricultural economics, bioenergy, animals and livestock, food and nutrition, genomics and genetics, agroecosystems and environment, plants and crops, and agricultural products.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the lead federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of healthcare for all Americans.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is the nation's most comprehensive source of hospital data. HCUP databases contain information on inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory care.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of surveys of families and individuals, medical providers, and employers nationwide. It is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of healthcare and health insurance coverage.
State Snapshots Tools provide state-specific healthcare quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand healthcare quality and disparities in their state.
The American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is a national indicator of the quality of economic output for goods and services as experienced by consumers of that output. The ACSI current tracks customer satisfaction with more than 400 of the largest corporations in the U.S. marketplace.
Atlas of Rural and Small-Town America from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Economic Research Service provides statistics by broad categories of socioeconomic factors: people, jobs, county classification, income, and veterans. Users can:
view county-level maps for socioeconomic indicators
view the entire country or zoom into specific regions, states, or county areas
for any county, view a pop-up window showing data for the indicators in a broad category for that county with an option to download
print a version of the map or save the image in a graphics-file format to add to a document or presentation
download the data in Excel or comma-separated values (.csv) for all data items and all U.S. counties
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) produces some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including the U.S. gross domestic product (GDP). The BEA also produces state and local numbers, plus foreign investments statistics and industry data.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Statistics published by the BLS include:
US Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services.
National Compensation Survey provides comprehensive measures of employer costs for employee compensation (including wages, salaries, and benefits) compensation trends, and the incidence of employer-sponsored benefits among workers.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys provide data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.
American Time Use Survey measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Provides statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics. Statistics and data published by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics include:
Border Crossing Data provides summary statistics for inbound crossings at the US-Canada and the US-Mexico borders at the port level. Data are available for trucks, trains, containers, buses, personal vehicles, passengers, and pedestrians.
County Transportation Profiles provides information on airports, bridges, demographics, maritime, railroads, and person trips at the county level.
Monthly Transportation Statistics is a collection of the latest monthly and quarterly data from across the government and transportation industry. It contains more than 60 time-series from nearly two dozen sources.
State Transportation Statistics presents data on each state's infrastructure, safety, freight movement, passenger travel, vehicles, economy and finance, and energy and the environment.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) collects data and statistics on a wide range of topics related to public health. Data and statistics from the CDC include chronic diseases, healthy aging, physical activity, and tuberculosis.
CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research) provides access to statistical research data published by the CDC on health-related topics such as births, deaths, cancer diagnoses, vaccinations, environmental exposures, population estimates, and more.
DATA USA provides easy access to U.S. data on places, industries, occupations, and education.
DATA USA's Viz Builder is a tool that allows you to dig deep into U.S. public data. You can select any indicator from the site, specify custom groupings and filters, and then view the resulting data as a series of visualizations based on your selection.
GSS Data Explorer makes it easy to use the data collected the General Social Survey (GSS). It provides the tools to transform data into useful knowledge. The General Social Survey is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago and is a publicly available resources. It is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences.
Federal Highway Administration Publications and Statistics provides information and data to support state and local governments in the design, construction, and maintenance of the nation's highway system and various federal- and tribal-owned lands.
HealthData.gov is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Tax Statistics has a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. The statistics include: business tax statistics, individual tax statistics, charitable and exempt organization statistics, and statistics of income (SOI).
IPEDS Use the Dataprovides data on a variety of topics including: institution characteristics, admissions and test scores, student charges, student financial aid, net price, enrollment, retention and graduation, completions, human resources, and finance.
IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data include decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
Published Census Volumes contain regular data series tabulated for the entire country and usually all states, counties, and major cities. Links lead to PDF scans of all available published census volumes.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other nations. The NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education.
Datalab provides access to data collected by the National Center for Education Statistics.
International Data Explorer (IDE) contains data from international assessments and surveys, such as PISA (Program for International Student Assessment) and TIMSS (Trends in Mathematics and Science Studies). Use the IDE to explore student and adult performance on assessments and survey results for thousands of variables for the US and other countries.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) compiles statistics to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the US population. The major data collection systems at NCHS are:
National Vital Statistics System collects birth and death events at the state and local levels. NCHS works with state and local vital registration systems to produce critical information on teenage births and birthrates, prenatal care and birthweight, infant mortality rates, leading causes of death, and life expectancy.
National Health Interview Survey provides information on the health status of the US civilian non-institutionalized population through confidential interviews. This survey is the nation's largest in-person household health survey, which provides data on health status, access to and use of health services, health insurance coverage, immunizations, risk factors, and health-related behaviors.
National Health Care Surveys provide information about the organizations and providers that supply health care, the services they render, and the patients they serve. These surveys are used to study resource use, including staffing; quality of care, including patient safety; clinical management of specific conditions, disparities in the use and quality of care; and diffusion of health care technologies, including drugs, surgical procedures, and information technologies.
National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP) AtlasPlus was created to provide an interactive platform for accessing data collected by CDC’s National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP). This interactive tool provides CDC an effective way to disseminate data, while allowing users to observe trends and patterns by creating detailed reports, maps, and other graphics. Recent updates to this resource allow users to explore the latest HIV data at the national-, state-, or county-level. Disease rates can be analyzed by demographic variables, transmission categories, year and trends over time. In this new version, users can also create 2 side-by-side maps or charts. New charting capabilities include: line graphs by year; pie charts for sex; bar charts by state and country; bar charts for age, race/ethnicity, and transmission category.
ResearchDataGov.org is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies and units. It was created in response to the Foundations of Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018. The site is the single portal of discovery of restricted data in the federal statistical system. Users can search for data by topic, agency, and keywords.
StatsAmerica provides socio-economic and demographic data, tools, and reports with a focus on community innovation capacity, resilience, equity and distress. Data are aggregated from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data. StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center and receives support from the U.S. Economic Development Administration.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) conducts research on the mental health and substance use rates across the United States. Some of the most searched topics of SAMHSA data are opioids, depression, marijuana, suicide, alcohol misuse, and serious mental illness.
The Census Bureau collects data that provide current facts and figures about America's people, places, and economy. Data published by the US Census Bureau include:
American Community Survey (ACS) is the premier source for information about America's changing population, housing, and workforce.
Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector including public finance and public employment and classifications.
Decennial Census of Population and Housing counts every resident in the United States. It is mandated by Article I, Section 2 of the United States Constitution, and takes place every 10 years.
Economic Census provides detailed information on employer businesses, including detailed data by industry, geography, and more.
Gazetteer Files provide a listing of all geographic areas for selected geographic area types. The files include geographic identifier codes, names, area measurements, and representative latitude and longitude coordinates.
US Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service analyses cover a broad range of economic and policy topics: agricultural economy, food and nutrition, food safety, global markets and trade, resources and environment, and rural economy and population.
The U.S. Religion Census was originally conducted by the U.S. government in five special reports from 1890 through 1936. In 1952, the National Council of Churches organized its own religion census, which was repeated in 1971 and 1980 with strong support from Glenmary Research Center. Since 1990, this decadal census has been conducted by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies. Coverage now includes many non-Christian groups as well as special counts for religious traditions that do not have central data collection points, such as non-denominational churches or Muslim and Jewish communities.