Citation Style
- Dr. Lockwood requires that you use APA style for your writing.
- Style is much more than formatting references. It includes:
- language usage
- font size, line spacing, and page numbering
- paragraph, page, and table formatting, etc
- There is a copy of the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association at the Research & Access Desk.
APA Style
APA Style is used primarily in the social and behavioral sciences, such as Psychology, Sociology, and similar disciplines.
- Style and Grammar Guidelines for APA 7th EditionThis link will take you to the style and grammar standards for APA 7th edition
- Reference ExamplesSee examples of most kind of reference entries
Additionally, the library has a print copy of the APA manual. See below for further information on finding a copy:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Available at the Research & Access Desk
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 143383216XPublication Date: 2019-10-01
For further examples of APA formatting see the following links from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL):
Helpful links
- Online Writing Lab: Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Purdue University)
- Includes short discussions on quotations, references, notes, and general format.
- Sample APA paper
- From OWL, the online Writing Lab at Purdue University
- APA Citation Basics page
- Contains most common kinds of sources.
Plagiarism Resources
- Harvard Guide to Using SourcesThis comprehensive guide prepared by Harvard University discusses the fundamentals of using, locating, and evaluating sources, covers how to avoid plagiarism, and the basics of integrating and citing sources.
- How to Paraphrase SourcesThis site outlines the differences between paraphrasing, quoting and summarizing.
- Paraphrase: Write it in your own wordsThis page from the Purdue University OWL shows students how to borrow from a source without plagiarizing.
- Paraphrasing Source MaterialThis guide explains the paraphrasing process and provides both accurate and inaccurate examples, as well as tips on how to avoid plagiarism.
- Quoting, Paraphrasing, and SummarizingThe Purdue University OWL prepared this information to help you become more comfortable with the uses of and distinctions among quotations, paraphrases, and summaries.
Other Helpful Citation Resources
These are just a few free tools you can use to manage your research, articles, and citations to help you stay organized.
- EndNote This link opens in a new windowOrganize and automatically create references and citations for your sources. Requires creation of a personal account.
- ZoteroAn open-source bibliographic management tool that you may download to your personal computer. Use it to collect, organize, cite, and share readings.