InfoGuides: HIST 6380 (Dr. Stuntz): Empires and Imperialism: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

Start Here

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
** Expanded access continues as we work to implement a new contract for JSTOR's new all-access model, which will provide access to all archival journals and primary source content. **

Back volumes for 2,890 journals from the very first issue but usually excluding the most current 2-5 years, though almost 100 with coverage through the most recent issue. General subject areas include art & architecture, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language & literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology and statistics.
Format: Majority full-text; some additional full-text via link resolver, Coverage: Dates vary with beginning date of journal., Truncation and Wildcard: + and ----, Search Tips: Boolean commands are supported. Use quotation marks to search keywords as a phrase.

Other Databases with Important Content

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1.7 million dissertations and masters theses from U.S. and international academic institutions and abstracting and indexing for 3.8 million.
Format: Frequently full-text, Coverage: Citations since 1637. Some full-text from 1743. Truncation and Wildcard: ? and *, Search Tips: May combine searches in a single research session.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 175 journals, focusing primarily on humanities and language. Some coverage for the performing arts, social sciences, and education. Almost all publications are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. 25 journals continue the JSTOR coverage of the publication.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: Varies, begins as early as 1995, Truncation and Wildcard: * and None, Search Tips: Use quotations for phrase searching. Supports Boolean AND, OR and NOT. Group complex search strings with parentheses. Browsable help section and journals list. Use advanced search to specify field types for search string. E-mailed articles are sent as a URL link to the individual article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search the most important journals in the social sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, the humanities, and visual and performing arts. Includes 'high impact' scholarly sources. Search by author, topic, affiliation, etc., or follow links to cited sources. Create an individualized sign-in to save results, set up search alerts, and gain access to citation management with the My EndNote Web service. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Science Citation Index (SCI).
Format: Citations; some full-text via link resolver, Coverage: 1970-present, Truncation and Wildcard: * and * for (any), ? for (1), $ for (0 or 1), Search Tips: Default search is for terms in the order they are entered, use quotation marks for a phrase. Search options include author, title, keyword, and subject. Author first name is initials only. Supports logical connectors AND, OR, NOT, and SAME. Can limit to one or two of the included indexes.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digital images, fully text searchable of 150,000 books printed in the 18th century, primarily in Great Britain. General subject areas are: history and geography; social sciences and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; language and literature; philosophy and religion; law; and general reference. Includes the complete works of Henry Fielding, Edmund Burke, Alexander Pope, Thomas Paine, Benjamin Franklin and Jonathan Swift. 3 million pages total.
Format: Full-text, Coverage: 1701-1800, Truncation and Wildcard: * and ? Or !, Search Tips: Initial articles (a, an and the) are used for alphabetizing the list of works included. The wildcard ? replaces exactly one character in searches, while the ! replaces 1 or 0 characters. Supports Boolean AND, OR and NOT. Use parentheses to group phrases and search terms. Also supports proximity operators W and N.

Search Tips

To find mentions of a specific phrase, put the phrase in quotation marks. Searching for
New Spain
without quotation marks can find mentions of a U.S. ambassador to Spain during the New Deal, while searching for
“New Spain”
with quotation marks will only find mentions of the Spanish empire holdings governed from Mexico City from 1535 to 1821.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a book or article that we don't have, you can get it via Interlibrary Loan Details (ILL).

Request a book or article.
Most articles are emailed within 1-2 weeks. Books may take longer.

Get Help from the Library

Research & Access Help

Use our 24/7 Live Chat located on the bottom right of library websites.
Call (806) 651-2215 during library hours
Use "Email a Librarian" to ask a question. Most responses within 1 business day.
Stop by the first floor Research & Access Desk anytime the library is open
Renew items using My account feature of the online catalog

Other Departments

Staff Directory

HIST 6380 (Dr. Stuntz): Empires and Imperialism

Search Discover Databases,Books, or Reserves